Dos and Don’ts of Dialog

I often edit authors who haven’t quite wrapped their heads around certain constants in writing yet, and one of the biggest is dialog. Every single thing I’ve said to them about how people talk is in this one blog post, so today, I’m sending you over to Kristin Lamb’s hangout.

I nodded all the way through, recognizing each point she made. I’d highlight one or two of them, but the truth is, they are all important, all true, and all worth implementing immediately.

Dialog is crucial to a story. It tells the reader who the characters are and how they feel. Getting it right is key to telling a good story. Off you go then. Say hello if you’ve a mind.

__________

In other news: I spent more than a couple weeks thinking about, researching, and putting together notes for a new book… only to set it aside yesterday in favor of something else. The SF/fantasy story refuses to come together at this point, so I’m going to work on something else first. More about this later. (Don’t hold your breath; it may be a while.)

Have a great weekend. See you Monday with a flash fic.

About Fenraven

Fenraven lives in central Florida, which reminds him of Wisconsin and Minnesota. Find him on Twitter and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dos and Don’ts of Dialog

  1. Janet Ellinger says:

    Off I go, then…haha! I think another friend of mine shared this very same blog the other day. I have such smart friends.

  2. bevjan59 says:

    I have bookmarked Kristin Lamb’s dialogue article, as I find dialogue the most difficult aspect of my writing and the punctuating of said – painful. I also mentioned I found her site through yours 😀

    • Cool!

      Dialog always came naturally to me, for some reason; idiot savant, perhaps? 😉

      I recently discovered I’ve been doing mostly “deep PoV” since I started writing–this was before I knew what it was called. Now I encourage all writers to study and embrace it, because it does, in fact, give the reader a more immersive experience. Kristin has a terrific blog about that, too.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.