Where the hell was I?

Recently I was going through old photos, and I found this one.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have no freaking idea where I was when I took that picture! I don’t recognize anything about it. Why did I even take it? There’s no boat on the water, no birds in the air, no dragon lurking behind what might be a small island in the lake. It’s just water and a shoreline.

The photo tells me I was using an Olympus camera when I took it. Not very helpful; I used an Olympus camera for several years. Checking under Properties, I see I took the picture on November 4, 2006, at 3:36 p.m. That was a Saturday; I looked it up. Makes sense, as I was working full time then and only got to drive around on weekends. Suki, my dog, would have been about a year old, and she would have been with me, because I took her everywhere. But she’s not in the shot.

I called up a friend and asked him where he was on that date. He laughed and said, “Send me the picture.” Few people remember where they were on a certain date unless something happened to mark it.

He’s sure I took it on the St. Croix River. He could be right; who knows? No snow, but most leaves off the trees and evergreens in the shot. No ice on the water either. I still can’t imagine why I took this picture. There was nothing special about it. Maybe I just liked the calm view of the water. Here’s the shot re-processed. Still kind of boring but it’s pretty, right? 🙂 The St. Croix is a beautiful river. I spent a lot of time on it when I lived in Wisconsin.

I have a few other photos to show you, too. This is a juvenile little blue heron. I liked the way the branch arched over the back of the shot.

My friend’s dog. I pet-sit her once in a while. Her name is Tiger Lily. She’s a sweetie and very photogenic.

This is a juvenile white ibis. They are born with dark feathers that eventually turn white as they become adult. It looks particularly happy to me for some reason.

A while ago, when I was dealing with car problems (remember the rat trying to nest in my windshield wiper cable?), I spent some time at the shop. I had the camera, of course, and I took a pic of this man on his bike. Street photography is not my usual genre, but I like this photo.

I have no idea what he was doing or where he was going, but isn’t that the point of street photography? It makes you wonder about people. The building is straight, by the way. The sidewalk is not. Just so you know I’m aware of the horizon line. 🙂

See you next time.

About Fenraven

Fenraven lives in central Florida, which reminds him of Wisconsin and Minnesota. Find him on Twitter and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where the hell was I?

  1. Marleen Kennedy says:

    Lovely pictures, especially the heron and (of course) the doggo. I love mystery pictures.

    LOL, Your mystery picture made me smile. I’ve got quite a few where seeing them leads to a ‘where was I’ or a ‘why did I take the same picture for the 581st time’ kinda reaction? ‘What the hell was I thinking’ has been known to flash through my thoughts too.

    • Fenraven says:

      Pretty sure I have more of those mystery pics. 🙂 I always plan to go through them and weed out any I really have no interest in, but there are so many now, after all these years, the task is daunting.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.