Photos: 10.9.17

I went out on the moped this morning with the new camera. The kit lens was on it (not the zoom, which is long, making it hard to carry). I visited a few of my favorite places.

The wading birds aren’t back yet, which surprises me. I saw a few dragonflies and took some pictures. A golden one perched on a blade of grass, and no matter what I did to focus, I couldn’t. Annoyed, I realized I still didn’t know enough about the camera and how to make it work for me.

Back at home, I put on the macro lens and worked with it for a bit, but the wind made it damn near impossible. I ended up keeping only three pics from that session.

I turned to the internet and looked up how to focus. 😉 Found out a few things and tried them. Better! 

Suki played model for me again. Got really nice depth of field on this one. 

The Sony can take eleven frames per second. It sounds like a machine gun when I hold the shutter down. Very cool. 🙂 I put on the zoom lens, aimed it at the feeder, and took pictures of the grackles, fighting over the food. One of them decided it was his. Another one disagreed. In the end, the first one remained in possession. 

Male cardinal, with a sunflower in his beak. Taken with the Canon.

Blue jay, this one shot at the feeder, then moved to a different location. Sony.

I’m closing with a photo I took in Wisconsin. I combined a series of three bracketed pics into an HDR. What I loved about this shop was the plants in the window. No leather displayed, but plants. It was winter and very cold. I remember how icy the wind felt as I stood across the street, focusing on this storefront, fingers freezeing. 

Until next time, I hope life treats you well.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

