G+ Rant

Someone posted this meme on G+:

I did not laugh. I did not even crack a smile. I find this shit abhorrent and demeaning to women.

The conversation between me and the poster: 

Apparently it’s up to us to teach women not to get so pissy about being treated like shit. They should somehow find means to rise above being paid as much as a third less than men, having doctors blithely dismiss their symptoms because they’re female, being ignored and abused and treated like crap in almost every arena because the men who run this society don’t think they’re as smart as they are, or worse, unworthy of equal treatment.

Bet you a million bucks this guy is white.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to G+ Rant

  1. Allison says:

    Mansplaining at its finest. 😡 I love that “you aren’t teaching your daughter to live past the stereotype”. 1. What even does that fucking mean? 2. Nice way to put the onus, once again, on women to be, do, prove they’re better. 3. Nice assumption that you’re defending your daughter as opposed to all daughters.

    I have been told that I “had to give him one time” when I not only didn’t laugh when my BIL’s father made fun of my MIL’s driving but pointed out that he wasn’t funny (especially as my MIL used to race cars as a young woman). I’ve been told, sadly more by other women than men, that I need to “get a sense of humor” when I’ve pointed out that these kind of things aren’t funny.

    I hope he was just some random or that you’ve blocked his sexist ass.

    • Fenraven says:

      Oh, I’m sure he’ll block me, and that’s fine. He’s not anyone I regularly associate with. It’s dismaying how many of these sexist relics are still around. I run into them far too often, sharing these horrible memes. I’ve taken to pointing out to them their unacceptable views of females. A few have the grace to acknowledge their knuckle-dragging tendencies. Most ignore me or respond similarly to this guy. *sigh* The war goes on.

Leave a Reply

