Photos: 8.18.17

I’m back with more photos.

I’ve always been fascinated with triptychs, and this picture lent itself to the effect well. The branches, highlighted using an effect called OOB (out of bounds), carry through to connect the separate “parts.” I love how this came out.

The background makes this shot. The original was a nice pic of two horses in a field, but now it’s art. 

Three ibises, perched on a wire. 

Giant swallowtail. The background on this was too busy–lots of grass and stuff. Replacing made a lot of difference. 

This is R’s dog, Star, as a pup, exploring a pile of twigs in the creek. 

See you next time.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Photos: 8.18.17

  1. Helena Stone says:

    Gorgeous pictures, as always. The pup is too cute for words and I love the triptych, even if I have no idea how to pronounce that word 🙂

    • Fenraven says:

      I found another couple of pics I can do that to–not as easy as it sounds! 🙂 Has to be the right balance of subjects, spread out enough to make it work. I’ll undoubtedly be messing with that over the weekend.

  2. Allison says:

    The butterfly is beautiful, the colors are perfect!

  3. blackpearl says:

    I’ve really enjoyed looking at your backgrounds lately. I have been making some papers to use in my crafting in photoshop elements but I’m nowhere as good has you. sigh. Can you please tell me where you purchase your backgrounds? I often have some lovely pictures of the children I teach but 99% of the time the background is not complimentary. Have missed seeing Suki lately.

    • Fenraven says:

      I just did a new photo of Suki; if you check out the new page “Commissioned Art,” you’ll see it and the photo I started with. Most of my backgrounds come from Jai Johnson at the Daily Texture: https://www.dailytexture.com/ She gives away a few free ones; make sure you look for those. I’ve spent a small fortune there lately! Don’t forget you can change the hue, saturation, and light/dark of backgrounds, making them endlessly different.

      Others I get free via Google search; search on “hi-rez textures” to find them. For a recent piece–https://theofenraven.wordpress.com/2017/08/15/project-move-an-anhinga/–I used a starry sky overlay to add sparkles to the water. 🙂 Once you begin this fascinating journey, you discover new things all the time.

  4. diannegray says:

    These really are “works of art”! Fantastic xxx

Leave a Reply

