Photos: 8.11.17

For the last few years, I’ve been posting on a regular schedule. I’ve decided not to be so hard on myself. I don’t always have new pics to show you, and I often don’t have anything to say, so henceforth I will blog only when there’s a reason to. If you don’t want to miss anything, make sure to follow me so you get a notification.

I’ve been busy with work. I’ve also been writing a new story that may or may not go anywhere, but I’m thoroughly enjoying it. More on that when and if it becomes relevant.

The older I get, the less I feel like doing things I have to, and that includes writing. I know! Hard to believe, right? I love the process of writing. I enjoy putting sentences together and playing with words, but the publishing business has changed so much in the last couple of years, I no longer have much interest in it. And then there are the pirates, stealing bread out of my mouth. *sigh* It’s not at all as I imagined.

I’m on a mailing list that alerts me to free books at Amazon. There are so many of them, in so many genres, that I couldn’t keep up if I tried. Day after day, more free books. Some of them are even worth reading. And they’re FREE. The author won’t make a dime from me downloading their book unless I read it, like it, and want more. A very few times, it’s worked, and I’ve plunked down money to get other books by that author. But mostly? Hell, a lot of times, I read the first few pages, upchuck quietly, and throw that piece of shit off my kindle. Bad writing, bad editing, boring story–I’ve run into all of it too many times to count.

My point is there are so many books available now, there’s almost no way to make a splash with readers unless you get very, very, very lucky.

Here’s the thing about me: I’ve never been lucky when it comes to money. It doesn’t like me. It goes out of its way to avoid ending up in my wallet or bank account. Good looks, IQ, charm… It didn’t matter being born with those things if I couldn’t find a way to attract money, the only thing our shitty, self-serving, greedy society thinks is important.

What I saw: finally getting to the point where my writing could support me.
The reality: hell no! never happen.

It’s likely I’ll keep sharing my writing here on the blog, though. If you’re not interested, don’t read it. But I do appreciate the few of you who like my efforts.

________

I have pictures today.

This is a blue heron with a fish in its mouth. The original photo was bad. The lighting was behind the subject, and the background sucked. So I threw texture at it. 🙂 Much better!

The remainder of the photos were taken up north. This first one is of my then neighbor’s dogs. Ruby, the pup, was being fostered. The older one was long-suffering. Heh. They wrangled a bit, Ruby asked for an apology, and all was well.

Frog in a pond. I like his expression. 

Llama in a different pond. Heh. Its buddies were nearby under a tree. Llamas are almost common in Wisconsin. You can always see them at the county fairs. 

Tree swallow. I was riding the back roads and spotted it in an adjacent field. 

This encounter was something I treasure. I was strolling along a park trail when I glanced into the woods and saw her, not more than ten or twelve feet away. Our eyes locked. I wondered if I should turn on the camera and took a picture. She made no sound, and neither did I. After taking only one photo, I crept away on sneakered feet. We had a moment

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Photos: 8.11.17

  1. Helena Stone says:

    I’ve reached the stage in my life where, apart from the day job, I basically limit myself to doing things I want to do when I want to do them. Life’s too short for anything else and I’m not getting any younger. 🙂

    Of course I subscribed to your blog. Is that even a question?

    You do what’s right for you and I will happily admire any pictures you share and devour the words you write.

  2. Lindsaysf says:

    As I get older, I find myself increasingly allergic to “ought’s” and “should’s” – for myself. Hmm, are my ideas about what youngsters “ought” to do increasing? Like “they really ought to learn how to write and do basic math” – maybe even spell and -gasp!- think! (I think I hit Old Fogey territory there!) So far I thoroughly enjoy whatever you share so of course I subscribe. BTW as one who has more $ than looks, my experience is that looks are what the world really values. Granted my $ are still moderate, maybe too moderate to make a difference in how I’m perceived. It seems to me that it is the pretty ones that get the acclaim, the promotions, the praise.

    • Fenraven says:

      Yes, when you’re young, looks matters above all if you’re female, and it certainly helps if you’re male, but inevitably, aging happens and those pretty faces and bodies change. That’s when you should have money, because society has made it clear you’re now only a burden if you don’t have any. I’m not sure what my future holds, but I’m positive it won’t be good.

  3. Allison says:

    The puppies are adorable!

  4. Janet Ellinger says:

    Awesome pics!

  5. diannegray says:

    I feel the same way about the publishing industry and the flood of free books on the market – in fact, I feel like the pic of your frog when I think of it. Writers seem to be heading into the ‘how to write books’ genre of writing now – even the most famous ones, so I guess they’re struggling too. I write of the simple joy of writing because any other reason would be far too frustrating for me in this climate.

    • Fenraven says:

      I’ve noticed that too, about writers teaching rather than doing.

      quote: I write of the simple joy of writing because any other reason would be far too frustrating for me in this climate.

      Yes, that is the only way I can write these days. It’s too depressing otherwise. Maybe things will change again, but I’m not holding my breath.

  6. A.M.B. says:

    I like your attitude about blogging. That’s the way I try to be, but sometimes I feel like I *should* post something even though I don’t really have much to say. It’s difficult to fit blogging into my day.

Leave a Reply

