Photos: 8.7.17

I’ve been working on a lot of photos lately, trying some new things. The more I do, the more refined my technique. “Normal” pictures look a little odd to me now. Heh.

I’ll start with a sailboat. The picture was taken on the St. Croix in Hudson, WI. I removed the boat’s name to protect the owner’s privacy.Ā 

Some of the textures I use I found online for nothing. Most of them, however, I bought. I have to be careful not to become addicted to acquiring more; they aren’t cheap. šŸ™‚ This picture was taken on Treasure Island, at John’s Pass. I had no idea how striking it could be until I removed the background and replaced it with textures. The original shot was okay but boring. I included it for comparison.Ā 

Picture taken near River Falls, WI. I saw this jaunty scarecrow in someone’s front yard and could not resist taking a photo. It has personality, don’t you think?

Speaking of personality, this sheep has oodles. šŸ™‚ I didn’t realize until I downloaded the photo that it was smiling at me.Ā 

See you next time!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Photos: 8.7.17

  1. Lindsaysf says:

    My fav is the scarecrow. Definitely has character, one that could go either way. A scarecrow with depth. šŸ˜€

  2. Helena Stone says:

    Gorgeous images and wonderful adjustments. That scarecrow is almost begging for a story if you ask me šŸ™‚

  3. Helle says:

    Are you using a Topaz plugin for the effects?

    • Fenraven says:

      I use Topaz programs to process the photo, then I do masking in Photoshop to add the textured backgrounds. It’s quite a process, though I’ve gotten faster at it with practice. The most painstaking part is removing the old background from the photo before replacing it with new ones. Sometimes, those new backgrounds consist of as many as four different textures.

  4. Allison says:

    Glad you’re getting so much enjoyment out of this, it looks like a lot of fun!

    • Fenraven says:

      It is, except when I overdo it and my fingers/hand cramp up. Heh. It involves some mousing, and I can’t do it as much as I’d like. Same thing happens when I play video games.

  5. A.M.B. says:

    These could be illustrations in a children’s book. They’re lovely.

Leave a Reply

