Photos: 8.4.17

I’m back! I’ve been lazing about this last month, though I have taken some photos, read a lot of books, and also done some writing. I’ve also been working hard.

I’ve been going through old pictures, redoing some of them and tossing others. As my skills grow–and as my camera improves–the old pics no longer appeal. Kind of a shame. I look at a photo I took ten years ago and get depressed, knowing if I’d had my current camera, it would have been so much better.

But that’s the way it goes. We can only more forward.

I’ll start with a pic I took in Stillwater, MN while waiting at a stoplight. I powered down the window and grabbed the shot. I love streetlights at night, don’t you? And the ones in Stillwater, a rivertown, are beautiful. This one resides at the corner of Chestnut St E and St Croix Trail, otherwise referred to as Main. I was crossing the liftbridge into MN on my way to work. Yes, it was dark. Go to work in the dark, go home in the dark. 😦 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

While we’re talking about a winter up north… I stayed after work one day while there was still some light left and took pictures of river otters in the pond. They’d opened a hole in the ice and were fishing. They were good at it, too. I was freezing! But I stayed at least forty minutes, long enough to lose feeling in my extremities but get several nice pictures. This is one of them. 

Still in Wisconsin… these are Northern Shoveler ducks. I spotted them in a farm “pond,” a body of water that appears following a heavy rain, then disappears after a day or two. I was on my way to work but pulled over, rolled down the window, and captured them. 

Female goldfinch. The treatment makes this picture special. That texture overlay makes the photo, doesn’t it? The really cool thing about this shot is she was perched on an iron feeder bar. I hated it, so I replaced it with a branch from a different picture. Photoshop magic! You would never have known if I hadn’t told you, right? 🙂 

See you next time. 🙂

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Photos: 8.4.17

  1. Helena Stone says:

    It’s wonderful to have you and your pictures back in my inbox. All of the above are fab but I think my favourites are the otter and the street lamp.

  2. Allison says:

    Beautiful! I’ve never seen an otter anywhere but a zoo, that’s cool that you’ve seen them in their natural habitat.

  3. Janet Ellinger says:

    Welcome back

  4. Linda says:

    Welcome back, you were missed.

  5. diannegray says:

    Great shots – I love that streetlamp!

  6. A.M.B. says:

    It sounds like you had a very productive hiatus! The pictures are wonderful. I particularly love the goldfinch (they are among my favorite birds).

Leave a Reply

