Photos: 6.23.17

I am unbelievably frustrated when it comes to shooting backyard birds from inside my house. The problem? The lanai is screened. Ever try to shoot through that stuff? You can almost do it if it’s that fine screening for windows, but the stuff on the lanai is heavy duty and thick.

If I drag a chair out to the big tree behind my place, the birds get shy and won’t come in to feed. I even bought some camo cloth to drape over me in an attempt to fake them out. Hasn’t worked so far.

I’m still working on a solution to this problem. In the meantime, I did attempt to shoot through heavy screen, and this is the best I came up with. You can vaguely see the screen markings on his head and wings. This is unacceptable, but I did like the bokeh effect. 🙂 For those of you unfamiliar with the term: In photography, bokeh is the aesthetic quality of the blur produced in the out-of-focus parts of an image produced by a lens. Bokeh has been defined as “the way the lens renders out-of-focus points of light.” Imagine how good this pic would have been if I could have gotten past that damn screen! 

This cute little bird didn’t mind me taking pics of it, and I got a lot of them. It’s a western palm warbler. Being on the east coast as I am, you’d think it would be a plain old palm warbler, but nope! 

Two wood storks and a roseate spoonbill. I love this photo. First: wood storks, which are still on the endangered list, and second, the spoonbill, which I’d never seen before. All of ’em hanging out, trading bird secrets, and having a good time. 🙂 

We’ll end today’s post with some sex, because who doesn’t like watching a couple crazy kids in love, going at it? 

Hope you have an enjoyable weekend. 🙂

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Photos: 6.23.17

  1. Fab pictures and so great to get a picture of birds on the endangered list.

  2. Janet Ellinger says:

    The birds will get used to you if they see you enough

    • Fenraven says:

      Agreed, but that means sitting out there for hours every day. Right now, there’s heat and humidity, so… I’ll have to wait until fall/winter again.

  3. diannegray says:

    These are great shots – I love the bird through the screen (WOW!)

    • Fenraven says:

      Well, it was my only choice. Heh. There are several cardinals visiting now, and it kills me that I can’t get an unobstructed sight line to them!

Leave a Reply

