Photos: 5.22.17

I was at Heron Pond, which is only a short distance from me. Rode the moped so I could explore more thoroughly. It’s a wonderful wildlife area, full of birds, dragonflies, and other things. I did not see any ‘gators, though I looked for them before cautiously entering a new area. If they’re there, I suspect they’re in the marsh area, away from the part often visited by people.

Spotted this fellow practically at my feet. He was as curious about me as I was about him. He’s likely a brown anole, considered an invasive species in Florida. 

While wandering, I perched on a small hill overlooking this beautiful spot. I didn’t want to leave. There were no people nearby, and I couldn’t hear any traffic. The quiet was sublime. 

Here’s a shot from another angle. 

While I was enjoying the secluded spot, a dragonfly landed on a branch not far away. I swear these guys follow me around, just to pose. “Ain’t I pretty?” Yes you are. 🙂 

I even spotted a scarlet skimmer. 

Out on the water, I saw bees buzzing a water lily. I believe they pollinate them, but this wasn’t even open yet. I’d like to know more. 

I got a terrific picture of the pond, and it was clear enough to see into the water. Cool, huh? 

Have a great week!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Photos: 5.22.17

  1. Wow such fab photos loved the pictures of the dragon fly.

  2. Allison says:

    These are all beautiful! I love the pond from the hill in particular.

  3. diannegray says:

    Great shots! You’re so good at this. I need to get myself a new camera 😉

    • Fenraven says:

      Camera is only part of it. 🙂 The rest is luck, having a good eye, and post-processing. I’ve been honing what little skill I have for about sixteen years.

Leave a Reply

