Photos: 5.19.17

It was shady. I didn’t have my diffuser, which means the flash is pretty much useless, because it’s blocked by the barrel of the zoom lens. But I took some pics anyway, hoping maybe one would turn out. It’s such a pretty insect!

Alas, none of the photos were very good, but I couldn’t bear the thought of throwing them away, so I chose the best one and ran it through some filters in PS. This is what I got. You can still sort of see the insect’s basic structure, but now it’s ART. (That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it.)

I got a far better pic of a different insect–a fly–the next day. Look at those cool feet!

The paper wasps are still working on their nest. I’m leaving them alone for now, because it’s fun watching them, but when I moved in to take this pic, every one of them gave me “the look.” I knew if I went any closer, they’d attack, so I took two quick photos and backed away. 

I’ve gotten some terrific dragonfly photos lately. The first is an eastern pondhawk. 

The next two are of a gold dragonfly; that’s what I call it. I don’t know it’s familiar name, much less the scientific one. If anyone can ID this, I’d appreciate it. One photo shows the entire dragonfly (note the appendage hanging under the tail, back near the pincers; dragonfly dick?). The other is a 100% crop to show detail. The “eye” immediately drew my attention. 

Have a fun weekend!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Photos: 5.19.17

  1. Wow such fabulous detail amazing pictures.

  2. Allison says:

    Gorgeous!

  3. diannegray says:

    That golden dragonfly is awesome! And I’ve also had “the look” from paper wasps – it means “get away now”! 😀

Leave a Reply

