Photos: 5.15.17

Spring, and the plants are springing. 😉 Okay, that was lame, but it’s true new life is appearing everywhere. Most of these pics were taken a month ago; it’s taken me that long to get around to posting them, thanks to the pirate story.

Lately it seems I’ve focused more on visual art than my writing. There are reasons for that, but I haven’t fully explored them yet. Suffice it to say, I’ll be doing both on the blog: photography and writing. Creativity takes many forms, and I’m happy to explore our world in any way that brings me satisfaction.

Back to the macros today. The flame plant sprouted a new leaf, and I captured it at exactly the right moment. The next day, it had unfurled and looked like any leaf. That yellow tip really stands out against the background of a red leaf, doesn’t it? Fortuitous positioning!

The frangipani, otherwise known as plumeria, is also returning to life after a winter rest, shoving new leaves from the dead-looking tips of its thick branches. 

In the grass? Lots and lots of these tiny snails. I only ever see their shell homes; I would really like to see the creature that lives inside them. 

Moving on to insects… a crane fly. One pays no attention when they hang on a house, but if you take a picture and look at it… fascinating and beautiful.

Not so beautiful, but still interesting. So many flies, so many different “looks.” Take a gander at those feet on the first one! How cool are they?

That’s it for today. Have a wonderful week!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Photos: 5.15.17

  1. Lindsaysf says:

    That frangipani could audition for the lead in a monster movie!

  2. diannegray says:

    The insects look so alien on macro – it’s fantastic! I’ve bookmarked the pirate story so I can read it all in one go after the latest family drama is over. I can’t wait 😉

  3. A.M.B. says:

    These are wonderful pictures. I love seeing the details.

Leave a Reply

