Photos: 5.12.17

The camera’s been getting a workout since the moped got fixed. I can’t stand to stay home anymore. Spring in Florida brings all kinds of interesting creatures to my area as they migrate. One of the best things about photography is never knowing what you’ll see next. The joy of discovery is a constant motivator.

Birds are always fun to photograph. First, they’re a challenge to get close to. Every time, I move as close to them as possible; if I can’t best myself, why bother? My trash can is full of pictures I threw away. Perfectly good in many respects, but they revealed nothing new or weren’t special in some way. Dragonflies may be the only exception to this rule; I never tire of them. 

Three photos taken in my backyard. Well, it’s everyone’s backyard, but I’m usually the only one out there. Heh. In order of appearance: boat-tailed grackle, mourning dove in an odd position, and a mockingbird. 

In a corner by the bedroom is a web. A small spider lives there. He’s about, oh, half an inch long, including his legs. Because of the damn wind, I had to take a zillion photos of him to get a photo even this good. It’s okay, but I hope to do better in the future. The legs almost look like plastic tubing, don’t they? So delicate! The pic that follows is a 100% crop, showing detail. You get a really good look at those legs in that one. 

I’m including the next pic because it’s interesting. It is not a very good macro, but I’m keeping it because I’ve never seen anything like this before. It’s very small and appears to be made of feathers. No idea what it is. A fly of some sort? A tiny moth? It’s sitting on the lanai’s screen; that should give you an idea of how small this thing is. 

If you follow me on FB, you’ve seen this one already. I’m posting it for the many people who only visit this blog. I love this shot. The lighting is so dramatic. It was taken at Harn’s Marsh. 

Have a terrific weekend. See you Monday. 🙂

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Photos: 5.12.17

  1. Helena Stone says:

    You do have a very special touch for photos. Those are, once again, gorgeous. 🙂

    • Fenraven says:

      Thanks. I keep asking myself how I can improve. One way would be to get a better camera, but I can’t afford that, so I have to come up with other ways to get better. 🙂

  2. Wow amazing photo’s and with such fine detail.

  3. Allison says:

    The spider’s legs make me think of bamboo! Very cool.

Leave a Reply

