Photos: 4.7.17

While I waited for the step-down ring to arrive so I could safely use the new close-up lens (see previous post), I used my camera’s built-in macro ability. It’s not bad, but I soon realized I’d need a flash diffuser to avoid harsh shadows on the photo.

When the lens is extended, the pop-up flash can’t get around it, so you have to bounce the light somehow. You also want to take away strong shadows.

You can buy them but why? They can easily be constructed of stuff you have lying around the house. Read more about it here. I made one that looks pretty much like this, and it works great.

I did not, however, use that for the following photos. I hadn’t created it yet. 🙂 

These small flowers are on bushes near my house. I was delighted with the softness of the late afternoon light, but the rest bored the pants off me, so I threw on some texture and added a vignette. I like it better, but you might prefer the original iteration, which follows. 

I was sitting outside in a lawn chair, keeping an eye open for insects, when I spotted this fly on the screen. I know their eating habits are gross, but there is an incredible variety in color from one to the next.  

Paper wasps are building a nest under the bedroom window. I’m going to have to hose it down soon, but right now, it’s fun to watch. My windows still have that gawd-awful, old-fashioned metal awning that was once so popular down here (the landlord plans to remove them asap), so I had to use the flash. A diffuser would have softened those hard shadows behind the nest and bottom wasp. While you’re here, however, take a look at the strange things in those compartments! Fascinating. 

This picture taken while lying on the grass. This tiny little flower jumped out at me, bright against a darker background. 

Lastly, two pictures of the blooms on my small bougainvillea. It wasn’t doing so well in the pot anymore, so I planted it in the ground under the bedroom window, and it practically bloomed overnight.

Have a great weekend!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Photos: 4.7.17

  1. Helena Stone says:

    Your photos, as always, are glorious. But you were right; I think I do prefer the original picture over the one you ‘messed’ with 🙂

  2. A.M.B. says:

    These are great. I think I prefer the original oleander (I’m guessing that’s what it is), but I like both pictures.

  3. diannegray says:

    Wonderful photos – the wasp gave me a bit of a shiver because I remember being stung by a paper wasp many years ago. I’ve never seen one up so close before without running away very fast 😉

Leave a Reply

