Photos: 4.3.17

I’ve been bitten by the macro bug again, to the point where I bought a close-up lens for the camera. It’s supposed to fit 52-67mm. My camera is at the highest end: 67mm. Funny looking, right? It arrives in two pieces: the lens and the adapter. You fit the lens into the center of the adapter and snap it into place over the lens of your camera, using the threads already there.

I had to struggle to get it to fit inside the threads. Then I took some preliminary photos in the lanai.

This is a tiny bead on a metal woven basket I bought in St Paul, MN, years ago. Even though it tends to drop glitter everywhere I put it, I love the way it shines in the light. It was a good subject for the new lens. Depth of field is extremely narrow, so I have to take great care to get something in focus.  

This is another bead, somewhat larger, hanging from a window decoration. That one hair drives me nuts, but I like that it’s there; it means I got pretty close.

Lastly, another bead, this one from a Mardi Gras necklace. It’s the largest of all the subjects, and I wanted to see how the lens handled it. It’s a little blurry at the top, but that’s okay. It doesn’t detract from the picture overall. 

Here’s another one. I was sitting in the lawn chair, waiting for insects to appear, and this long-legged fly landed on the outside wall. It’s between 1.5-2mm, so very small. I hope to get even better shots after I learn how to use this lens. 

Pretty cool, huh? My plan is to hunt down small insects and make them mine! *evil laugh*

I ran into a problem when I tried to remove the macro lens, however. It was stuck in there so tight, it yanked out the round, threaded piece of plastic that circles the camera lens.

After I finished freaking out, I replaced it with little difficulty, pressing it down until it was seated firmly in place. Then I went back to Amazon and ordered a step-down ring. This clever little device changes the default size of the camera’s lens size to a different measurement.

No way was I going to attach that lens directly to my camera again! It was simply too tight a fit. I would be terrified of scratching the lens or pulling out that piece again. This screws into the threads around the camera lens, then you can screw something smaller into the other side, which is 58mm. I have some filters that size from a camera I no longer have; it will be nice to use them again. As for the macro lens, I’ll pop it into the smaller opening, and there should be no further problems.

It arrives in two days, and I can’t wait to get down in the grass and roll around. 😉

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Photos: 4.3.17

  1. Allison says:

    I love macro photography! It’s such a precise, and interesting, method. Cool shots!

    • Fenraven says:

      I get better all the time, but it’s lately been quite windy here, and that sucks for outdoor macros. Things blow around too much, and it’s hard to get anything in focus.

  2. 🙂 Very nice shots! I love hunting bugs down too!

  3. Sara Ella says:

    I love your pictures!!!!! That is all ❤

  4. A.M.B. says:

    Wow! These pictures are amazing. I especially like the fly.

  5. diannegray says:

    These are absolutely fantastic. I really love that fly!

Leave a Reply

