Photos: March 17

I’ve been driving around a lot with the camera lately. I’d use the moped, but it’s not working right. It either needs a valve job, the carburetor looked at, or perhaps even new gas. Hopefully, I’ll find someone to look at it soon. In the meantime, it’s the damn car for me or anywhere I can easily walk.

Speaking of walking, I strolled a couple of nearby streets and heard something chittering at me from the woods. I crept closer and spotted this gray squirrel. I figured it was either guarding a nest or simply in a pissy mood. 😉  Remember: all photos are clickable for original size. hidden-squirrel-2-26-17-sm

I’ve returned to that spot since but didn’t spot the squirrel a second time.

When I have a camera in my hand, I feel lucky and often am. Like this shot. The original was red berries. Pretty enough but nothing special. So I ran it through some PS filters. Now it looks like the berries are lit from within. 🙂 Love that effect. leaves-and-berries-2-26-17-sm

I revisited the lake I used to live near. It’s not much farther away than it used to be, and it was interesting seeing the canal from a different perspective. I was there no longer than half an hour and got some truly wonderful photos.

Let’s start with Spanish moss. Everyone who doesn’t live here loves it. It’s romantic, even sexy. But the moss tends to kill the trees it devours. It is pretty, though, and makes for some dramatic photos. spanish-moss-2-28-17-sm spanish-moss-2-2-28-17-sm

This is the other island in the lake. The first one you’ve seen plenty of times. This one doesn’t get much action, as far as I can tell, but who knows? There could be a whole secret society going on in there, and I wouldn’t know. island-one-spanish-moss-2-28-17-sm

A picture of two apple snail shells. The occupants have either departed for larger shells or been eaten by a limpkin or osprey. snail-shells-2-28-17-sm

While I was stalking the shore of the lake, a tricolor heron showed up. I got many beautiful, wonderful pictures of this bird… until some idiot forced his way into my space and scared the heron away. People; sometimes I want to kick their butts. But I did get within five feet of the bird by sitting on the ground and staying quiet. In this first photo, he’s in hunting stance. tricolor-hunting-2-28-17-smtricolor-heron-head-2-28-17-sm

And now he’s just being silly. 🙂 tricolor-closeup-2-28-17-sm

I love their red eyes.

Have a terrific weekend!

________

 

Coming March 20:

Black, a Short Story
The Queer Revolution

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Photos: March 17

  1. Helena Stone says:

    Happy Friday and St. Patrick’s Day. Thank you for those wonderful images. I think the squirrel photo is my favourite. It’s looks so sneaky, peeking through the leaves at you like that ❤

  2. Allison says:

    How big are the shells? They look much larger than I think they actually are. Love the last shot of the heron. 😅

Leave a Reply

