Photos: Richmond Canal

This canal has no name, so I refer to it by the nearest street. It’s between my place and R’s, and I’ve noticed several times it draws wading birds.

This morning, on my way home from a visit, I saw there was quite a group, so I parked, left Suki in the car, and took my camera over there. I didn’t stay long; although the temp was cool, I always worry about Suki when she’s in the car. canal-of-birds-2-24-17-sm

It was overcast, but you can see there were a lot of birds there. There were even a couple of ducks. Because I didn’t want to scare them, I kept my distance. The next couple of shots illustrate just how good the zoom is on my camera. 

two-herons-2-24-17-sm

This was the best shot I got. I love how the heron is standing on a tiny rock in the water.heron-on-rock-2-24-17-sm

I haven’t returned since that day, so I’ll round out the pics with a few from my visit to Corkscrew. fl-no-id-lizard-2-24-17-sm

I’m always looking for wildlife, but I notice plants too. I like the curliness of this one, and the way the sun shone on it.

green-2-24-17-sm

The feathery quality of this plant got my attention. No idea what it’s called, but I like it. 🙂spiky-green-plants-2-24-17-sm

That’s it for this week! See you next time.

_______

 

Coming March 20:

Black, a Short Story
The Queer Revolution

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Photos: Richmond Canal

  1. Allison says:

    Because I always love reflection shots the close up of the herons is my favorite.

    The curly plant makes think of fiddlehead ferns, but I think it’s too delicate.

    • Fenraven says:

      I really don’t know what it is. Some kind of fern, I suppose. It was right off the walking path. While it’s sometimes tempting to strike off into the woods, I resist that siren call. One never knows what one will find, and there are panthers in that sanctuary.

  2. Lindsaysf says:

    Not only is your lens good but your hand is steady. Steadier than mine even using all the bracing & breathing tricks I know!

  3. Janet Ellinger says:

    I like the same one you did.

  4. A.M.B. says:

    These pictures are gorgeous. They look like paintings.

Leave a Reply

