Photos: Corkscrew Wildlife Preserve

I impulsively drove over to Corkscrew after lunch, determined to get some interesting photos. Alas, the birds weren’t around, but I did see plenty of lizards and dragonflies.

As usual, the Eastern Pondhawk followed me along the trail, landing close by again and again. Click on photos to see larger.eastern-pondhawk-2-24-17-sm

eastern-pondhawk-in-sun-2-24-17-sm

This is a Great Pondhawk dragonfly. You’ll notice the tail is blue and white. I’m not sure what the red thing sticking out of its neck is.ย great-pondhawk-2-24-17-sm

Lizards were active, too. I’m always surprised at the variety of colors and patterns they offer. It’s been a very long time since I saw the green anole, however; the invasive brown ones have almost wiped them out.ย brown-anole-2-24-17-sm corkscrew-lizard-2-24-17-sm

On my way out, I spotted this small orange-red dragonfly. Due to the angle of the sun, it almost appears to be brown. But it was the red that caught my eye. This dragonfly was no more than two inches long. I was unable to ID it. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ย The sun sparkles on the wings are great, aren’t they?unknown-dragonfly-2-24-17-sm

As I was leaving, an older couple arrived, wearing Corkscrew volunteer shirts. They were walking the trails, making sure everything was okay and answering questions from visitors. Too bad they didn’t arrive earlier; a busload of kids were there when I pulled in. I still wonder if their presence drove the birds away. Kids are noisy. ๐Ÿ˜‰

There’s time to visit again before the summer heat sets in, however. Have a great week!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Photos: Corkscrew Wildlife Preserve

  1. Helena Stone says:

    Glorious pictures once again. You’re so lucky to live surrounded by such a wide variety of flora and fauna and I’m (we’re) blessed that you share the beauty with us. Thank you!

    • Fenraven says:

      You’re welcome. Exploring the beauty around me never fails to leave me feeling relaxed, yet energized. In tune with nature. People and their noise are detrimental to my well-being. I need to get away from them regularly, and taking pictures is the perfect “excuse.”

  2. Allison says:

    Yay, dragonflies! They’ll always be my favorite of your shots.

  3. diannegray says:

    These photos are absolutely fantastic – I love those dragonflies! xxxx

    • Fenraven says:

      Thanks. I’ve been photographing them for fifteen years. I seem to have the knack. They often follow me around, though I’ve been told they’re actually waiting for my big human feet to scare up bugs for them to eat. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

