Monday Flash Fic: Control

17021821_641057309414693_1677025599699405517_nI waded across the field, brushing the tall stalks with light hands. All I could see of Sean were his arms, raised above the grass as he conducted. “Practicing?”

His silvery laughter floated up from the ground. “How am I doing?” Butterflies moved in the air above him, answering his silent request.

The nearer I got to him, the slower I went. I didn’t want to step on him by accident. “You managed to call them. Now ask them to do something for you.”

“Ask, not tell?”

I quirked my lips. He knew this. We’d gone over it enough. “We work with nature. We don’t trample it with heavy feet.” His smiling face looked up at me. I stopped. I loved how his eyes sparkled, vivid blue against the green grass.

Monarchs circled, coming close but not touching me. I sent out a request, and the butterflies gradually lined up, briefly spelling his name.

Sean laughed with delight. “You are a master.”

I nudged his shoulder. “A servant of nature, never its ruler.” I released the monarchs, and they broke formation but fluttered nearby.

Dropping to my knees beside him, I touched his arm. He quickly linked hands with me. Tiger swallowtails appeared, beating their massive wings.

I grinned. “You?”

He tightened his fingers around mine. “Us.”

______

Read more flash fics here.
Genre: fantasy
Words: 220

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in free read, publishing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Monday Flash Fic: Control

  1. Allison says:

    I like this!

    • Fenraven says:

      I haven’t been able to write dark since Agent Orange took over in Washington. I guess my subconscious thinks there’s enough nastiness in the world. 😦

  2. Helena Stone says:

    That’s a wonderful little tale. Love it ❤

  3. Lila Leigh says:

    Lovely! So sweet and happy. ❤

  4. It’s nicely written and a nice message, too.

  5. ❤ Love the magick for this one

Leave a Reply

