Photos: this and that

I’ve definitely been busy with the camera of late, but I’ve also looked at some old pics as well. Let’s start with the little blue heron. It’s plentiful in this area and quite photogenic. upset-little-blue-12-23-16 little-blue-2-19-17-sm

Here’s a tricolor, standing in long grass. The beautiful plumage of the heron contrasts nicely with the green grass. tricolor-heron-in-grass-2016

I think this is a red-shouldered hawk, but despite the red eye, it’s been difficult to ID. You’d think sources would mention that red eye, right? hawk-sm

Next, the Cuban tree frog, considered a pest in Florida. It is not native to the US, and it’s speculated they arrived on ships. They are really noisy at night, especially after it rains, and they love to hang off house walls. I found this fellow inside my bedroom window, between glass and screen. tree-frog-2-20-17

The grackle. I generally think of them as glossy black, but apparently, the juveniles are brown. cowbird

The tersa sphinx moth. Spotted it on a window screen. It’s striking, don’t you think? tersa-moth-back-8-13-16

Here it is from a slightly different angle; I love the red stripes down it’s back. tersa-moth-8-13-16

Have a terrific weekend!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Photos: this and that

  1. Helena Stone says:

    Gorgeous pictures. Thanks for sharing.

    • Fenraven says:

      🙂 A couple of these were taken before the move, but they’re still good pics. I’m having a lot of fun in the processing stage these days, after learning a couple new tricks.

  2. Lindsaysf says:

    Gorgeous! And the detail! Not only a good lens but a steady hand. The tree frog may be a pest, but you certainly caught an adorable whimsical look. I love the baby grackle with the teenager strut.

    • Fenraven says:

      I don’t always have such a steady hand! I was taking photos the other day at a local canal, and could not get a clear shot to save my soul. Had to crawl down the embankment and sit, and even then it was iffy. Still don’t understand what happened. Perhaps it was the wind, or maybe it was the traffic at my back. Later that day, I was fine again. 🙂 It’s a long, long zoom lens, so now I carry a camp chair and tripod in the trunk of my car for just such occasions. 🙂

  3. Allison says:

    The moth is fascinating! I can see how perfectly it would fit in with dead leaves. I love the blues on the herons, but you and I have that in common.

    • Fenraven says:

      🙂 I was talking to a WI friend the other evening, and I really, really missed my favorite places up there. But it’s cold and there’s snow on the ground and no leaves on the trees, so to hell with that!

  4. Jaycee Edward says:

    The moth has a kind of Art Deco look. 😜

  5. diannegray says:

    Wonderful pictures – that tersa sphinx moth looks like an alien 🙂

Leave a Reply

