Photos: Birds and an Old Barn

I went through some photos from 2002 and found this one. I was living in rural Wisconsin. Back then I was using an Olympus. Digital cameras weren’t as good as those we have today, nor were the pictures very large. The size for this one is 1200×900. The day was overcast, as you can see. There was absolutely nothing compelling or interesting about the shot. I’m surprised I kept it, if I’m honest.

Wisconsin Field

Wisconsin Field

But I thought I might make something of it, so I opened it in Photoshop and got to work. I adjusted brightness and contrast, then put it in Topaz and tried a few things. Because the subject is so damn boring, I wanted to try to turn it into a painting. Most of the time, a painting filter looks like crap and I reject it, but because I used multiple filters first, it actually worked. I love the final result. It actually looks like a painting.

Old Barn Painting

Old Barn Painting

This is a gray wall jumper. I spotted it on my four-panel folding screen when I was putting it away one morning. I haven’t seen him since, but I know he’s around. Fine with me; they eat things I’d rather weren’t in the house, and they rarely disturb humans.

gray-wall-jumper-2-8-17

Little blue heron hunting along the lake shore. The sun was setting, making him glow. That red neck is usually purple.feeding-heron-2-13-17-sm

There was a dramatic sky that night, the sun lighting up foreground palm trees while the background remained dark and threatening. just-before-storm-2-14-17-sm

I spotted another plant sprouting from a tree. This one’s in my backyard. tree-plant-2-17-17-sm

During a walk Suki and I took the other morning, I spotted this mockingbird perched above me on a wire. I expected it to fly away any moment, but it stayed quite a while. I was able to zoom in pretty close. mockingbird-closeup-2-17-17-sm

Have a great week!

 

 

 

 

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Photos: Birds and an Old Barn

  1. Allison says:

    The barn turned out really cool. I don’t think I have ever seen a mockingbird, but I don’t know if I’ve ever lived where they were common.

  2. diannegray says:

    These are fantastic shots and I’m amazed at what you did with the barn – awesome!

  3. A.M.B. says:

    Wow. Your Photoshop skills are amazing. I like to play around with Photoshop, but I’m just a novice.

    • Fenraven says:

      PS has been a passion since I picked up my first digital camera. That photo isn’t finished until I’ve processed it somehow, even if that only means adjusting curves and bumping saturation. And you can probably tell, I love deep, rich color. 🙂

      I’m still learning! Because doing the same thing over and over isn’t good enough. I want my pictures to look better and better. And one day, maybe, I’ll be able to afford a really nice camera so the raw material I start with is first-rate. 🙂

Leave a Reply

