Photos: the backyard

I spent some time in the backyard. Two particular trees capture my attention. One is a bird magnet, the other is simply magnificent. This is the Tree. It has swallowed three tall palms over the years, and I do mean tall.  The utility people have not chopped into it for the wires. I hope they never do.the-tree-2-8-17-smbig-tree-2-7-17-sm

I pointed the camera up the main trunk, then zoomed in. Unbelievably, there are still fronds on the swallowed palms. swallowed-alive-2-7-17-sm

This is the other tree, the bird magnet. It’s behind the Tree and large in its own right. This is just one small part of it. I’m horrible naming trees. If it isn’t a maple, birch, or oak, I have no idea what it is.backyard-tree-2-7-17-sm

Two red-bellied woodpeckers were jumping around in the branches of the above tree. I believe they were male and female. These were the clearest shots I got of them; it was almost as if they knew I was taking pictures and intentionally hid behind branches or in shadows. red-bellied-female-2-7-17-sm red-bellied-2-7-17-sm

Mockingbirds are plentiful here, and listening to them is a pleasure, they have so many different songs. This one was sitting on an exhaust tube on top of the next house. mockingbird-2-8-17-sm

There are mourning doves here, too. mourning-dove-2-8-17

Have a wonderful weekend. 🙂

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Photos: the backyard

  1. Jaycee Edward says:

    We have tons or mourning doves. Don’t know that I’ve ever heard a mockingbird

  2. diannegray says:

    I love the way those two palms are still growing and I’m sure there’s a meme there somewhere about refusing to be overwhelmed by the big guy! Great shots xx

  3. Allison says:

    I love huge, old trees like that. I used to live near a neighborhood that had tree lined streets with ancient trees, the entire street was canopied from the trees. It always made me feel so peaceful when I went there, even though you could hear the high school that was next door.

  4. A.M.B. says:

    I love the bird photos! These are three types of birds I have in my backyard too, but I don’t think my mourning doves are nearly as peach/pink as yours are.

    • Fenraven says:

      Well, I do saturate colors, but if they aren’t there to start with, they won’t be there afterward. Heh. I recently hung a bird feeder and am in the process of putting up another. I love watching them, and I enjoy taking photos of them.

Leave a Reply

