Friday Photos

This tree is full of bees, and I’m guessing that means it’s full of honey. Usually, they’re buzzing in and out, but the day I took the picture, it was quiet. I see a few bees around the edge of the bottom hole, though, so they’re still there. What caught my eye was the one red leaf against a bright blue sky. That vine climbed all the way to the top and over. tenacious-1-30-17-sm

This hanging plant was in R’s neighbor’s yard. The sun was setting behind it, and it just looked beautiful to me. I don’t even know what this is. I’ve seen them before, but my mind is blank. hanging-basket-2-2-17-sm

Here’s another plant photo. It’s growing on the tree. You see that a lot here, though normally, they’re on palm trees. This is a dead tree in R’s backyard. I don’t want him to cut it down; the birds love to perch in the bare branches. plant-on-tree-2-2-17-sm

The vultures are back, and as the sun sets, they gather in the tallest tree on the island. It’s fun, watching them fly in one at a time, circle, swoop, then land. They are standing on that treetop. What on, I have no idea. Branches, I suppose, but how do they support the weight of birds that large without breaking? After a while, there is a multitude of them in that spot, most facing the sun. These two are giving me the eye, and I was far, far, far away. They must have incredible sight. vultures-on-top-2-2-17-sm

A pic of my lanai in its current form. Some of the “outdoor” plants have been put in the ground, and the rest are lined up outside in pots. I put together a cheap birdbath, hoping to tempt some of the birds in the area to come closer. There’s a large green space in back; I hear the birds every morning but rarely see them. That big green tree? It’s HUGE. It swallowed two palm trees sometime ago; I can see their trunks, one on either side of it, but there’s not much going on at the top because the big-ass tree blocks them from getting light. I’ll take a better picture of it one day. lanai-2-6-17-sm

Have a great weekend!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Friday Photos

  1. A.M.B. says:

    You live in a beautiful place with such amazing wildlife. Thank you for sharing it through these pictures!

    • Fenraven says:

      You’re welcome. I love observing the world around me, and the camera forces me to do that. I’ve seen some wonderful pics on your blog, too, especially the headers. You know what I’m talking about. 🙂

  2. Great pictures have a great weekend.

  3. Allison says:

    I love the shot of the plant growing on the tree, there’s a lot of interesting lighting.

    For some reason I thought you were on a higher floor when you moved, no idea why!

    • Fenraven says:

      I live in a cottage with a carport. Definitely on the ground. Heh.

      I’ve been here almost a month, and I love it. It’s a pretty terrific place to live. Is it perfect? No. No place is. I could do with less noise from the road. But taking everything into consideration? It’s wonderful. 🙂

Leave a Reply

