Happy Birthday to Me!

I’m sixty-five and officially eligible for Medicare. Given what the Republicans are doing to the ACA, I’m glad I no longer have to depend on it. However, the GOP has also talked about gutting Medicare, so who the hell knows what is going to happen under our new <gag> president?

I can’t say his name. He pisses me off really bad, and so do the Republicans in control of Congress.

But on to more cheery things: photos.Β 

As some of you know, a chrysalis became a butterfly in my lanai a couple weeks ago. I documented the process with photos and video. Β It runs about five minutes.

After I placed the butterfly on a branch in a bush outside, I keep an eye on her. I didn’t want her to become food for something. πŸ˜‰ After two or three hours, her wings were strong enough she could fly, and she disappeared.Β almost-gone-1-13-17-smalmost-gone-2-1-13-17-sm

I was walking Suki and spotted this crow at the top of a tree. It could have been a grackle; it’s so hard to tell them apart. He’d found a piece of bread somewhere and was eating it piece by piece.Β crow-with-bread-1-11-17-sm

Spotted on the canal a few days before I moved: a tricolor heron. These birds are so lanky and elegant, don’t you think?Β tricolor-1-13-17-sm

And here’s a turtle for ya, ’cause I like turtles. He was floating in the water while Suki and I watched him from shore. He didn’t seem to mind us being there.Β turtle-1-12-17-sm

Have a wonderful weekend! See you Monday.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Happy Birthday to Me!

  1. Helena Stone says:

    Happy Birthday! I hope you’re celebrating.

    The pictures, as always, are fabulous. You are so lucky to leave in the midst of such beauty.

    • Fenraven says:

      Today I am mostly working, but R is making dinner for me tonight. My choice. He asked if I wanted to go out somewhere, but I always like eating in and enjoying someone’s company privately. Plus he has the lake, which I haven’t seen since I moved. Heh.

  2. Happy Birthday and thanks for the fab pictures.

  3. suze294 says:

    Wishing you a happy birthday, and enjoy the meal later

  4. Allison says:

    Happy birthday! I hope you have an amazing day, and that dinner is magnificent! *hugs*

    Is the turtle as big as it seems?

  5. Sarah_Madison says:

    Happy birthday! Love the pics, as usual. πŸ™‚ The colors are so vibrant!

  6. A.M.B. says:

    Happy Birthday! I hope you’ve had a wonderful day. Thank you for the pictures and the video of the emerging butterfly (which I’ll definitely show my kids!).

  7. Jaycee Edward says:

    Happy Birthday, Theo!!! Hope you enjoyed your evening!

Leave a Reply

