Photo Friday: All Kinds of Things

We’ll start with scenery, because I love a good landscape. Suki and I were walking down a road with woods on either side, and I spotted a plant with glowing white balls of whatever. It really stood out against the other stuff, so I opened it in Photoshop and messed about with it until I managed to make it look almost like what I saw on the walk.ย fl-landscape-12-20-16-sm

I was out in the backyard, looking toward the lake, when I spotted this egret standing at the “point.” Rumors have it that’s where the ‘gators are hanging out these days, but I haven’t seen them for a while. What I like particularly in this shot is the Spanish moss, and how it’s bathed in sunlight on the right, then nearly vanishes into shadows on the left. That Spanish moss is on the other island in the lake, the one I rarely photograph because it’s usually not interesting enough. ๐Ÿ™‚ย heron-on-long-grass-12-31-16-sm

Juvenile tricolor heron. He was standing in full sun as it was setting. That’s what is giving it the warm glow.ย juvenile-tricolor-12-31-16-sm

Our friend the limpkin, who likes to snag apple snails, yank out the edible part, and snarf it down. ๐Ÿ™‚ ย He had an itchy back.ย limpkin-12-25-16-sm

The softshell turtle has been hanging around in the canal lately. First year I’ve seen them here. He likes one particular spot across the canal, but if I get anywhere near him, even though I’m on my side, he races for the water. Shy little devil. And weird looking. ๐Ÿ˜‰softshell-turtle-1-1-17-crop

As I’m preparing this post, I’m still living at the old condo. The move to the new one was delayed due to bank shenanigans, which necessitated moving the closing. Hopefully, by the time you see this, I’m in the new place and all this is behind me. I bet I’m already missing the water, though. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Photo Friday: All Kinds of Things

  1. Jaycee Edward says:

    Glad you’re in and loving it.

  2. Helena Stone says:

    Wonderful images, as always. Thanks for sharing. And I’m sure you’ll find interesting sights and sites where you live now too. New discoveries for you to share. I’m already looking forward to it.

    • Fenraven says:

      Well, I’m only half a mile from my old condo. ๐Ÿ™‚ Sights and sounds won’t be too different. I’m hoping to get out and about soon, however. Now that the move is over, I should have time now and again to explore with the camera.

  3. Beautiful pictures hope the move went well.

  4. Allison says:

    Fantastic shots! I hope you get back to the water as much as possible. Enjoy learning about the new place!

Leave a Reply

