Photo Friday: New Camera

canon_9543b001_powershot_sx60_hs_digital_1080919I shouldn’t have done it. I couldn’t really afford it, but I could resist no longer! I bought a Canon SX60 HS. It has an amazing 35mm equivalent of 1365mm and takes HD videos. Photos are also 16MB, as opposed to 10MB with the old camera. Larger pictures give you more options.

I considered going to a Sony DSLR, but the idea of buying additional lens and dragging them everywhere I go… couldn’t do it. Not to mention the cost. I really like the all-in-one prosumer cameras Canon offers. They aren’t perfect, but they’re damn close for my needs.

I’ve been playing with it for a few days days, and I’m already convinced it was an excellent purchase. I also bought a memory card almost three times faster than the one I used in the SX50; it arrived Wednesday. It was taking too long to save photos to the card, and I realized I needed an upgrade.

I shot vid of a little blue heron hunting in the canal. The color and focus was stunning! In these last three weeks before I move to the new place, I will be spending a lot of time on the canal, getting pictures and video. The one mistake I made in the past was not shooting enough video, especially of my friends and especially during our “family” gatherings. It would be nice to watch them now, hear their voices, remember what it was like.

My advice to you: if you have the capability of recording the people and events in your life, DO IT. 

I was at R’s Christmas Eve for dinner. I arrived early enough to take a few pics before the sun went down. First up: great blue heron perched on the highest branch of a tree on the island. Do click on any of the photos to see them original size! The detail is amazing.great-blue-top-of-tree-12-24-16-sm

This was taken at full extension of the lens. Photo was amazingly sharp and clear. Keep in mind I took this handheld! Didn’t want to drag the tripod with me. 🙂 The camera is heavier than the 50X, but built-in IS handled whatever jiggle I introduced.

Same position and bird, lens retracted to capture the top third of the island. The two birds on the right are vultures. They love to sleep on this island at night. They were showing up, one at a time, when I was out taking pictures. birds-in-trees-12-24-16-sm

Creepy shot of a statue in R’s backyard. Looks like someone lurking in the shadows, doesn’t it? That narrow door leads to a guest bathroom. He never uses it; the statue stands guard against anyone trying to enter. 😉  I was testing the camera’s low-light capabilities. Not bad. The setting used was literally “low light.” There was almost no noise in the dark areas; that was terrific, and a big improvement over the previous camera. There is also a “handheld night shot” setting, which I didn’t try in this situation. Now I wished I had, so I could compare the two. night-statue-12-23-16-sm

For those of you who missed the posts on my FB wall Christmas eve, here’s a pic of a immature snail kite. It was so, so windy on the canal, and the only picture that was sharp and clear was the last one. He perched in a tree across the canal. hawk-in-tree-crop-12-23-16-sm

Little blue heron, hunting along the far edge. I processed this one using a Topaz setting I generally avoid, but I love how it added that sheen to the feathers! However, I didn’t love what it did to the background and water, so I masked back detail from the original photo.little-blue-12-23-16-sm

Tricolor and little blue, standing at the edge of the water. Shot from my back door. Same thing here: used that one setting in Topaz, toned it down a little, then masked back the water to make sure the focus remained on the birds. tricolor-and-little-blue-12-23-16-sm

Posted this on FB as wallpaper, not realizing it would be downsized. Sorry! Here it is again, full-sized. I absolutely love how this came out after processing. It’s almost a painting, yet detail of the feathers is still clear, and the bird seems to glow.  Click on it to open in original size, then save it. 1680×1050.heron-12-21-16

Have a safe and happy New Year!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Photo Friday: New Camera

  1. Jaycee Edward says:

    Dude…that statue…

  2. Allison says:

    Yay, have fun with the new camera! The shots you shared are beautiful.

    • Fenraven says:

      Thanks. Being familiar with the controls helps; this is the successor to my previous camera. I was able to dive right in and get a feel for it instantly. It offers a few more bells and whistles, and I’m taking my time learning those. It’s nice being able to get even closer to the wildlife I love. 🙂

      • Allison says:

        That’s one of the reasons I’ll always stick with Nikons. That, and the glass I already own. 🙂

        Enjoy playing with it!

        • Fenraven says:

          I did give some serious attention to the Nikon bridge camera that offered an amazing 83K optical zoom, but in the end, I chose Canon for the same reason: I know how they work (plus it was cheaper, and I really didn’t have the money to spend in the first place!).

  3. Lindsaysf says:

    These are amazing! You do have a good eye for capturing the right composition, framing & color. Have you considered selling your photos to those looking for stock photos? http://www.thepennyhoarder.com/selling-stock-photography/

  4. Helena Stone says:

    Those photos are amazing. Wow. And that statue? I’m torn between being freaked out and wanting one of my own outside our house 🙂 I’m so happy you spoiled yourself with a new camera and even happier you’re so obviously delighted with it. Enjoy your further explorations and have a wonderful New Year!

Leave a Reply

