Monday Pix

The recent election is still adversely affecting my mental balance. The world has changed, and I get the feeling we won’t know just how badly for a while yet. I mean, the asshole hasn’t even been sworn in yet, and already the news is bad. But enough about that.

As I type this, Amazon’s cyber Monday is going on, and I admit I looked at the cameras on sale. The one I was tempted to buy was not on sale, however, so I’ve put off making a decision about that. $600 is a lot of money, and do I need a new camera? Hell no. The Canon SX50 meets almost all my needs.

The camera I’m waiting for hasn’t been invented yet. It should have the longest optical zoom possible, an excellent lens, image stabilization (of course!), a 1″ sensor, and work well in low light. The Canon does most of that, but the sensor is small, and it sucks in low light. Nikon has a camera with an 83x optical zoom. Incredible. I admit I drooled a little, but again, the sensor is small, meaning it won’t do better in low light than the Canon.

Now that the weather is cooler, and I feel better physically, Suki and I are taking walks in different places again. Just before Thanksgiving, I parked on a dead-end road near two canals and got some very nice pictures. We start with a landscape. All pics are clickable for original size. canal-11-22-16-sm

On the other side of the road, I captured this image. I like the way the sun looks and how it sparkles on the pine needles. pine-needles-11-22-16-sm

A little blue heron standing on one leg on a log in the water. little-blue-1-22-16-sm

When I downloaded the shots, I realized the heron had company. I hadn’t noticed at the time. heron-and-turtle-11-22-16-crop-sm

As Suki and I moved closer, the heron got nervous and took flight, landing at the top of a tree across the canal. Amazing that they can do this without falling on their heads. heron-top-of-tree-11-22-16-sm

We close with another picture of Suki. This one is from 2008. She’s sleeping on the deck at my friends’ house in River Falls, WI. She loved it there. So did I. suki-asleep-8-9-08-sm

Have a great week!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Monday Pix

  1. Jaycee Edward says:

    I wanna kiss the bridge of her nose.

  2. I like the way you’ve been ending with a picture of Suki

  3. Helena Stone says:

    Great pictures but, as always, Suki steals the show ❤

  4. A.M.B. says:

    The election is still affecting my mental health too, and I don’t think that’s going to improve for me anytime soon. I don’t have a lot of faith in our “checks and balances” when the Republicans are squatting in all three branches of government. I say they’re squatting because they’re only there because of gerrymandering, voter suppression, and lies. I’m sorry I’m so negative. I enjoyed your pictures, though. Suki is beautiful.

    • Fenraven says:

      Your comment isn’t negative. It reflects our current reality, which seems to get worse daily. Every new choice Rump makes for his cabinet makes me sick. I agree the GOP is squatting. This was the most undemocratic election I’ve ever been part of, and the media’s continued relative silence about this terribly unfit president-elect and his choices is staggering. Citizens United effectively ruined our political process, and consequently, the country is doomed for the foreseeable future.

Leave a Reply

