Monday Catchup

I admit it. In the days since the election, I’ve barely functioned. Getting a manuscript to edit helped; it forced me to concentrate and pay no attention to the news from that camp, which we know is despicable and scary.

I spent a lot of time reading in bed. I’d picked up the first book in a series for free, and I just kept reading, buying the next book as I finished the one before. It got a little weird in #6, but I managed to finish it and am now reading #7.

I streamed a lot of stuff on Netflix and Prime. I’m almost finished with Cheers. I started Anthony Boudain’s Parts Unknown. I’m rewatching Burn Notice, believe it or not. Hey, good TV is good!

The point is I felt like shit, and not only because I’m still dealing with health issues. Distraction was the name of the game, and I became an expert in no time flat. 

Today, I downloaded stuff from the camera and took a look. Most of it was crap, but I did get this picture of the anhinga sitting on what remains of our favorite dead tree. Do yourself a favor and click to see full-sized. anhinga-bizsim-filter-layer-mask-11-19-16-sm

I started with the original photo, processing as usual. Then I added a second layer, which I ran through a Topaz filter that made it look like a painting. I added a layer mask to the painting layer and brought back some detail from the original, ending up with a photo that looked like a cross between the original and the painting.

That was so much fun, I did it again, this time with a Great Blue Heron that showed up earlier today. blue-heron-bizsim-11-19-16-sm

The poor heron had no eye after I ran him through the filter. It was brought back, along with nearly all other detail, while the rest was left more “painterly.”

I was lying in bed one morning, reading, when I glanced out the north window and spotted a red-bellied woodpecker bouncing around on the palm tree. I fetched the camera and took pictures through the window. In the first one, it has a bug in its beak. In the second, you can see its red tongue. red-bellied-woodpecker-11-16-bizsim-sm woodpecker-tongue-11-16-sm

This next photo is a three-pic HDR, put together in Photoshop. I love how the bark on the tree looks like a mosaic. trees-11-19-16-sm

And last, a photo of Suki, because she’s such a cutie. suki-in-leave-11-16-buzsim-sm

Have a great week!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Monday Catchup

  1. ALLISON says:

    I found myself unable to read for a number of days. I didn’t want to start something new, and have a great book ruined by my emotional state, eventually I re-read a series I adore, and then I was able to start something new.

    I hope you are better soon, I worry about you all the time.

    Cool processing on the shots, and I love that you caught it’s tongue! Suki is adorable in her sweater. ❤

  2. Jaycee Edward says:

    New rule. You must end every post with a Suki pic. 🤗

  3. Helena Stone says:

    I’m glad you found a way to cope that works for you. I hope I’m wrong but I fear you’re going to need those survival skills over the next four years. Your photos, as always, are magnificent, I love them. Especially the trees caught my eye, but then I’ve got a thing about trees. Only thing better than that is, or course, Suki. I vote with Jaycee when it comes to Suki pics 🙂

    • Fenraven says:

      I love trees, too. No matter what happens, they somehow survive. Even when they’re seemingly burned to the ground, a new shoot often appears. There’s a lesson in there somewhere. 🙂

  4. diannegray says:

    I love pictures of trees and birds (and any animal really!) But Suki is always my favourite xxx

Leave a Reply

