On My Own At Last

I was offered two jobs in the same week. One was in Hudson at a gear-manufacturing place, and the other was in St Paul in an office.

I’d never worked in manufacturing before, and I’d been in plenty of offices, so I accepted the job in Quality Control in Hudson. It terrified me, as I knew nothing about the industry, but I’d taught myself to face fear head on and deal with it. Besides, I needed the challenge. I already knew how to use a computer. I wanted to learn something new.

Ya wanna talk grease? The plant was nothing but grease. It was everywhere. Filthy place. I hated getting into my car each evening because of what might be on my shoes. They manufactured gears, so you can figure out why. But my desk was in a fairly clean area, and I liked the job for the most part.

As soon as I saved enough money, I moved out of the farm and into an apartment in Somerset, WI. Somerset is a river town on the western border of WI. The St Croix River is on one side, and the Apple River flows through town.

I wasn’t thrilled being in an apartment (shared walls), but I loved the location, which was close to work. It wasn’t long before I bought the moped. Cost me $1800 back then. Gawd knows what they cost now. I put it on the credit card and paid it off quickly.

I became friends with my new boss, and he made sure I was certified in QA so I could get a job anywhere. Little did we know businesses were in the process of moving manufacturing off-shore, but it would soon become evident. In the meanwhile, I was finally putting money in the bank, enjoying being back in Wisconsin again, and striving to make a new dream come true.

I wanted to buy a house. This time it would be in my name alone, and no one would take it from me.

When winter came around, I missed the heat of Florida, but I was content just having my head above water for the first time in three years.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The new moped. I loved it!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Stillwater, MN, boat basin. One of my favorite river towns.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Paddleboat on the St. Croix River.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Scenic view of the St. Croix, one of the cleanest rivers in the country.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Chipmunk pic included because I like chipmunks.

Have a terrific week!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to On My Own At Last

  1. Jaycee Edward says:

    I hate when each of these end.

  2. Allison says:

    I always wanted to go to the Apple River because they did a tube rafting there, but I never made it. I wonder if we would have run into each other! 😀

  3. diannegray says:

    These are fantastic snippets into your life (and I love that moped!) 🙂

Leave a Reply

