Memories

I’ve been thinking about St. Paul, MN, lately. It’s fall, and the trees are turning colors. The river reflects the bright blue of the sky, and the air is crisp and clean.St Paul Skyline Fall 10.6.13 sm

I distinctly remember standing on the bridge overlooking the city the day I took this photo, wearing the black hoodie because it was cold and thinking about a story that would eventually become The Haunted Maze. The idea excited me. I thought it was clever, and little bits that floated into my head made me snicker.

The road along the river was under construction that year, and I snuck down there on the scooter and rode it anyway, enjoying having it all to myself. A short walk away from my apartment was an incredible view of the city. I went there often with the camera, day and night. St Paul Skyline 4.30.13 sm

I grew up in a Minneapolis suburb and was always told St. Paul was weird. I lived there two years. I’m glad I had the chance to get to know this city. It’s not weird at all. It has a wonderful downtown, the river, and lots of green space.

boca-chica-web-8-thumbAnd it has Boca Chica, which is still my favorite restaurant anywhere. I miss it like mad; I haven’t found anything like it in Florida yet. I’d kill for a bowl of their tomato soup and the shrimp that showed up on a platter so hot, they needed oven mitts to bring it to me.

I am all the places I have ever been. They live in my mind, and sometimes in my nerves and blood. There are times when I ache to see them again: almost everywhere in western Wisconsin, the river road along St. Paul, the patio behind Boca Chica, the main street in Stillwater, MN, along with its cranky old drawbridge over the St. Croix. The colors, sounds, and smells will stay with me forever. St Croix MN side10.8.13 sm

I’m making new memories in Florida, and they are as precious to me as the ones I already have. Quintessential Florida 2.1.15 sm

There’s always something new around the next bend. I look forward but never forget where I’ve been.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Memories

  1. Patricia says:

    Lovely trees aflame….miss my north too. A Floridian for 24 years, the scent of the Northeast US is a far memory. Once in a while I spot a golden tree here, out of place and beautiful with its wide leaves, and I slow my car down to look.

    • Fenraven says:

      There are compensations to living in Florida. For instance, flowers bloom all year ’round. We get to enjoy color of a different kind. And we don’t have to slog through the brown season, followed by the gray season.

  2. Allison says:

    “I am all the places I have ever been.” So true. Having lived in so many places has made me the person I am, and I know I’m better for it.

    • Fenraven says:

      I wish I could have lived more places! When I was growing up, it was possible to travel the country, getting a job now and then to pay your way. We can’t do that anymore, and I think it’s a horrible loss. Travel expands the mind and soul! Without it, we remain small people with small ideas.

  3. Helena Stone says:

    Those pictures are wonderful, especially the trees. We don’t get bright colours quite like that here, nothing veering towards red anyway. But here in Ireland fall can be a glorious season too, provided it doesn’t rain and stay grey all the time 🙂 Treasure those memories, they are very special.

  4. diannegray says:

    I love those trees. We don’t get all those colours in the tropics – it’s mainly just year-round green. Sometimes I miss the colder climates (but certainly not in winter) 😉

    • Fenraven says:

      I miss the *idea* of winter. Enjoying a toasty fire, curling up in flannel sheets under a mound of blankets, drinking hot tea. But I’d rather write those things into a story than experience them anymore. 🙂

      I got very tired of being cold all the time through seven long months of winter. In Florida, I’m warm right down to the bone.

  5. Sara Ella says:

    The trees are just starting to turn in Wisconsin and Minnesota-I was just in Mpls last weekend. Always love the pictures that you share-the colors are so vibrant! Now in Florida too. Thank you for sharing! 🙂

  6. A.M.B. says:

    What beautiful pictures of a beautiful city. The fall color you captured in those photographs is just amazing.

Leave a Reply

