Photo Friday

All pics are clickable for the uploaded size. It’s the only way to see detail.

We begin with a dragonfly. I love them. Their wings look like stained glass to me. The sun sparkles on his wings are nice, too. 🙂 Not especially colorful, but sharp and clear and gorgeous. dragonfly-9-21-16-sm

A couple mornings last week, I woke up early enough to enjoy sunrise. Same morning, two different shots. morning-sky-9-20-16-smsunrise-9-20-16-sm

This morning, I spotted a water snake in the canal. I ran back to the condo to get my camera, and he was still there when I returned. water-snake-9-25-16-sm

Light was on the other side, so after taking a few from that angle, I switched. When I’m taking pictures of wildlife, I get as many shots as I can right away, in case they vanish. This snake wasn’t unduly concerned at my presence, so I was able to take several more photos on his other side. water-snake-in-rock-9-25-16-sm

I’m pretty sure this is a harmless water snake, but there have been reports of moccasins (cottonmouths) in the canal. He wasn’t aggressive but neither did he flee.  I sent the pics to R, and he was undecided. He thought it could be a juvenile cottonmouth. In any case, he told me to stay away from it. Heh. Good advice.

Last pic of the post: a rainbow. It was a double, as can be seen on the upper left. Notice how it shows up in the water on the right, too?

rainbow-9-23-16-sm

Have a terrific weekend!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Photo Friday

  1. Helena Stone says:

    Gorgeous photos. I think R may have a point with his warning. Personally I’d stay well away even if I was 99% sure the snake in question was harmless 🙂 Thank you so much for sharing all the beauty.

  2. Jaycee Edward says:

    Love the dragonfly one. It’s hands…. Been while since you’ve posted dragonflies. 😉

    • Fenraven says:

      They’ve been gone through summer, but now they’re coming back. Soon it will be cool enough to take day walks again in the neighborhood. I’ll see them more often, along with butterflies.

  3. Beautiful photos loved the dragonfly and the water snake.

  4. Allison says:

    Gorgeous! I love the dragonfly especially.

  5. diannegray says:

    Great shots! I love that dragonfly and the snake. Well captured!

  6. A.M.B. says:

    The dragonfly is amazing. I love the details. Great pictures! (PS. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that Hurricane Matthew does you no harm).

    • Fenraven says:

      I should be fine. The entire west coast is only under a storm warning. There will be wind and rain but nothing worse. *fingers crossed* I’m very worried about my friends on the east coast, however. It’s going to hit at category 4. 😦

Leave a Reply

