Photo Monday

Didn’t get around to writing the flash fic this week; I was working on the WIP, which is going well. I have about 35K written. I’ll post some photos  instead.

I’ve been sitting on several, and it was only today I got around to downloading them to take a look at what I had. I got a few pleasant surprises.

This one, for instance. Talk about drama! The shot of this roll cloud was taken out the back door. I’ll admit it looked damn scary for a while there.roll-cloud-7-12-16-sm

A little blue heron grooming itself on what remains of the dead tree. The water’s high enough right now to cover almost all of it. I wonder if they ever pull a muscle doing that?little-blue-7-25-16-sm

Got a closeup of a wasp on a bright yellow bloom. The detail is pretty darn good; click to get a better look. There is pollen on his legs.wasp-on-flower-7-17-16-sm

This heron was preening for a female out of frame. Notice his crest? I think it’s a green heron.

mating-heron8-18-16-sm

Spotted this little fellow on the courtyard wall, ran inside for the camera, and took a couple shots. I recall him being about 1-1.5″ long. Who knew my wall was so bumpy? Looks like hardened foam. I do love macro shots; I see fascinating things.tiny-green-dragonfly-8-18-16-sm

Look closely. This is not two tree frogs hugging. This is one tree frog on a scooter mirror. I love that the eye in the reflection is sharp and clear, but the real frog is out of focus. 🙂 tree-frog-on-mirror-8-21-16

Have a terrific week!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Photo Monday

  1. Jaycee Edward says:

    Those are fantastic!! Don’t think I can even pic a favorite this time. Each one delighted me for different reasons. The storm one, though….shudder. Our robins are flocking this morning and it’s super chilly. That big, huge storm front I posted on FB about must’ve really chased the hot, humid weather away. Good. Heh. I enjoy the Fall-like weather so much better. But seeing my yard full of robins was kind of an eye opener and dose of reality that…wait for it…winter is coming. 😜. That means our Giant Blue Herons will be heading your way soon. Take good care of them for us!

  2. Lindsaysf says:

    Wow! Just …wow.

  3. Helena Stone says:

    Those images are stunning, all of them. Close ups of insects always blow me away though. I’m not entirely sure what it is since those creatures don’t do anything for me normally, but seen as they are in your pictures they intrigue me. That first picture just made me glad we don’t see clouds like that here. Scary 🙂

  4. diannegray says:

    These photos are awesome! I love them all and can’t pick a favourite xxxx

  5. Yvonne says:

    I love your photos!

  6. A.M.B. says:

    These are great pictures, Fen. That cloud is amazing. I would’ve gone inside for sure.

  7. Allison says:

    Fantastic shots! I love when something up expected, like the frog, catches your eye.

Leave a Reply

