Monday Flash Fic: Comeuppance

14095853_557760701077688_6996805179115462567_nHe’d been playing his guitar for half an hour, during which time I hadn’t been able to move. “My arms hurt. I’ve got a cramp in my back.”

He looked up, dark hair falling half over his eyes. “You’re complaining?”

“I’m… uncomfortable.” There was a small rock under my right butt cheek, and I was thirsty. My throat was so dry, I could barely swallow, much less talk. “What are we waiting for? And why am I in stasis?”

“Your attacker’s companion will be back with a friend or two, seeking revenge for his death.” He strummed a G-minor chord. “If you’re still, you won’t distract them or me.”

He’d saved my life, but I’d been frozen in one position ever since, and I was sore and unhappy. He could put it any way he liked; I knew I was bait.

Grinning, he ran his fingers nimbly over the strings, producing a waterfall of notes. “Patience is a virtue.”

“So I’ve heard,” I grumbled, trying to flex my hands or feet without success. If I wasn’t able to move soon, I’d go crazy.

“They’re near,” Guitar Man said.

“How do you know?” I couldn’t move my head, but I looked around as best I could.

He smiled. “I can feel them. Their energy is dark blue shot with red.” He pointed. “There.”

I swiveled my eyes to the mountain of rocks on the right and saw nothing, but if Guitar Man said they was there, I believed him. My ass still ached from the rape. I hoped GM destroyed them, like he’d killed their buddy.

I closed my eyes against the sun. “Water.”

“Soon.”

He played his guitar, the music floating on the air like dandelion seeds. The sun shifted, the breeze strengthened, then fell off, and I swallowed painfully, so thirsty… so thirsty.

Lulled into a state of half-consciousness, I was shocked into awareness when GM abruptly raised a hand and shot a bolt of silver-white energy into the rocks. There were screams, and a man tumbled to the sand, clutching his chest. GM released another bolt, and there was a thud, followed by silence.

In the next moment, I was released and fell sideways, muscles aching. The relief was orgasmic.

GM laid his guitar aside and crawled over on hands and knees. Bending over me, he touched my cheek. “Safe now,” he whispered. “They will never hurt you again.”

I stared at a beautiful blue sky. “Now what?”

His lips parted, and I glimpsed straight white teeth and a tantalizing tongue. “Trust me?”

How could I not, after all he’d done for me? “Yes.”

He laid hands on me, and I felt the heat of them all through me. “Leaving now.”

In the next moment, the beach disappeared, along with the rocks and sand and two dead bodies–three, if you counted my rapist. We went elsewhere, and I was okay with that. I was with him.

_____

Genre: SF
Word count: 478
See more flash fics here.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in free read, publishing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Monday Flash Fic: Comeuppance

  1. jeffbaker307 says:

    Very weird! Loved it!

  2. Lindsaysf says:

    I’m hooked – and I want chapter 2!

  3. Jaycee Edward says:

    Wow. Very creative! I certainly didn’t see that when looking at that picture – but I do now!

Leave a Reply

