Meh

I’ve been in a slump lately, not wanting to go anywhere or do anything, including writing. It’s like my brain’s been wrapped in cotton, stuck in a glass jar, and placed on a high shelf in a dark room. There is no spark, no passion. I just want to be.

I’ve learned not to force it when I’m like that. It’s a rare mood, but it will pass. In the meantime, I plan to indulge my lazier habits without guilt.

The Kindle is loaded with books to read, and Netflix is only a remote click away. Every time I pass the dining room table, I stop to place a few puzzle pieces; I’ll finish it soon, but I’m in no hurry.

That pretty much sums it up: I’m in no hurry right now.

How odd! All my life I’ve been a Type A crazy person, rushing here, running there, obsessed with meeting deadlines and goals, and now I don’t have any unless I’m editing. Then I stick to a schedule and work hard, but otherwise? As the title says: meh.

I’m taking a vacation from everything, including this blog. A cotton-wrapped brain doesn’t want to come up with things to write about, and it’s not even excited about photography at the moment.

I’ll be back in a few weeks. Until I bump into you again, I wish you joy in the last few weeks of summer. In many parts of the country, temps are thinking about dropping as we march toward the season of falling leaves. Enjoy it while it lasts!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Meh

  1. Helena Stone says:

    We’re all entitled to our occasional spells of ‘meh’. I firmly believe they do us the world of good. Our brains and bodies can’t always be on high performance without it sooner or later leading to a crash. Much better to go with the flow, enjoy the meh and jump back in when the meh has lifted.

    Enjoy your time relaxing.

    • Thanks. I’ll probably participate in the flash fic group from time to time, but otherwise, I’m taking a break. I tend to be fairly driven, which is good when you work at home (I set a schedule and stick to it!), but everything else can back off and wait until I’m ready again.

  2. Allison says:

    Enjoy your time doing what you want, you deserve it. I hope you are feeling excited and energized again soon.

  3. Jaycee Edward says:

    Puzzles!! I love puzzles!! When I was growing up we always had a puzzle going on the dining room table! Now I don’t do them too often, but there is always ten or twelve going at the Cleveland Clinic. Is it sad that I sometimes look forward to getting to work on one there? They had one, a pair of otters, that was going on one of the waiting room tables for eons. It’s was super, super, hard, and we’d laugh each month when we walked in and saw it still going. It finally got finished, then the next time we went, it was all apart and someone had started it all over. We steered clear of it this time and opted for a table with an easier one.

    Enjoy your meh time. You obviously are in need of a recharge.

    • This is a fairly easy puzzle, but I just haven’t sat down and attacked it. I work on it for five or ten minutes while cooking and always place at least one piece. When it’s finished, I’ll post a pic of it.

  4. W. Lotus says:

    Enjoy your break! I’m glad you’re listening to what your brain needs.

Leave a Reply

