A Little Late

I wasn’t going to write a post today but then decided to do a quick one.

Just returned from the doctor. The nurse said I had no infection. The PA said I had one. Meh. We’re gonna try another antibiotic. Oh joy.

There was one good thing though: no weight came back and my blood pressure was down twenty points. I absolutely think it’s due to a supplement I’ve been taking, along with my daily walks.

I’m over 20K words on the WIP, and I’m still excited about the story. The dreaded middle section is coming up; let’s see if I can get through it this time without thinking the whole thing is shit and I should throw it away. 😉

Watched the first season on Hannibal on Amazon Prime the other day. It’s almost too intense to be binge-watched. The murders are horrific, and watching Will descend into madness makes me uneasy as hell, even though I know it springs from a physical problem.

I really, really need new glasses. I’m moving that to the top of my list, despite the expense involved. I also need need sneakers; the ones I have are broken across the soles on both shoes. I hate shoe shopping, and I always put it off until way past the last moment.

Suki is bored and wants to go somewhere, but I’ve been in hermit mode for weeks now, due to one thing or another. What happened to my wanderlust? Used to be if I didn’t get out and explore every few weeks, I’d start climbing the walls, but my walls have no fingerprints on them.

Yeah, I was busy with edits for several weeks, and now I’m enveloped in writing a new story, but I kind of miss getting out and about with the camera. I may have to plan a day trip somewhere interesting, to remind myself how much I like taking pictures.

Y’all have a good weekend. My only plans are to write.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A Little Late

  1. Helena Stone says:

    I’m completely with you on the shoe issue. I hate having to buy new ones. No, in all fairness, I’m not overly fond of (clothes) shopping in general, but shoes are that bit worse than most other items. I’m so excited about this new story of yours. If the rest lives up to the teasers you spoiled us with, it’s going to be a read well worth waiting for. I hope this new antibiotic will take care of that infection of yours once and for all. And you do know that you make all of us, not just Suki, happy when you go out and take more pictures. Have a wonderful weekend ❤

    • The truth is I haven’t felt well enough to gallivant the last several weeks. My energy levels are low, and I don’t feel healthy. Some of that is depression due to News of the World, but some is because of the infection that will not die. I can take antacids and Pepto with this antibiotic, so hopefully my stomach will get through it this time.

      Correction: just picked up the drug. I can take Pepto, but not within two hours of taking the drug. So I guess it’s a case of closing the barn door after the horse escapes. 😉 Small pills, though; I can easily swallow these, no tricks needed.

  2. Jaycee Edward says:

    Love the comment about the fingerprints. 👍🏻 My dog is restless too, but it’s been too hot and humid here to go for walks. It’s basically like Florida at the moment. I step outside and instantly sweat. I can’t tolerate that, so poor pup isn’t getting much exercise either. As for glasses, join AARP. Not even kidding. For the $25 membership, we saved $200 on our glasses and $800/yr on our house and car insurance. It pays for itself.

    • I used to be a member, back when I was in Wisconsin. I’ll look into it again.

      The other night, I took a different route during my walk, which added an additional quarter mile. Good for the legs and lungs, but I was dripping sweat when I returned home. The humidity is killer right now. If I get in half a mile a day, I figure I’m doing well.

  3. AJ Rose says:

    Maybe you and I switched places in our sleep. I’m usually comfortable in my hermitude, but lately, I’m the one climbing the walls. I used to think going to an office job everyday sucked because it forced me to be around people, but I’m finding after months of just me and my basement and computer, I miss it. If it weren’t so stinking hot, I’d chuck the dogs in the backyard and go write at a coffee shop or something.

    • I hear you guys are hotter than we are down here! So strange, but that’s climate change for ya. As soon as I feel healthy again, I’m sure the urge to go somewhere will pop up again, even with the summer heat. I do not miss going to an office at all, however, and I only miss one person I used to work with. The politics and constant gossiping drove me nuts.

  4. Allison says:

    Sorry you’re still dealing with the infection. I am amazed at how difficult they are to get rid of.

    Good luck with the story, I hope it doesn’t bog down for you. I am looking forward to it!

    One of the best things about this area is that it inevitably cools off in the evening. I’ve never lived anywhere before that made me want to be outside so much.

    Have a great weekend!

    • I feel the same way about Florida… except right now. Heh. The temps don’t go much above 90, but the humidity creates unsafe conditions. Dew points as high as 77 force people to stay inside.

      But it won’t last forever. In a few weeks or a couple of months, nicer weather will be here again, and I will delight in it every day!

  5. diannegray says:

    I can’t stand that dreaded middle section – it’s the point where I want to throw the whole lot into the bin. Stay firm and enjoy your writing weekend 😀

  6. A.M.B. says:

    How are you feeling? I hope your infection has cleared by now. I’ve been battling something lately, but I think it’s allergies. I agree with you about shoe shopping. I’m responsible for buying not only my own shoes but my kids’ shoes too. I really need to assign that task to my husband…

    • The new antibiotic is tolerable. I’m on Day 5, and the side effects so far are minimal. Yay! The nurse called with the results of the culture from the sample taken last Friday, before I started the doxycycline: clean, no bacteria. I asked her if I should continue taking the pills, and she said yes. (Of course she would; they do tend to push that stuff!) After finishing the ten days, I will immediately go back on the d-Mannose (one tsp every morning) and the Lauricidin, which I’m convinced was well on its way to knocking this out. I’ve also noticed my blood pressure is lower when I’m taking it. Better that supplement than the usual pills, eh? 🙂

      Sorry to hear about the allergies. They can be nasty, not to mention making you feel tired. Have you tried OTC stuff?

      • A.M.B. says:

        I’m glad to hear you’re tolerating the new antibiotic and that your blood pressure is down. I’ve been taking zyrtec, which helps the allergies, but makes me “fuzzy.” The end of allergy season is one of MANY reasons to look forward to winter this year!

        • So this is a usual thing? My allergies didn’t start until I was forty. I’ve heard if you have them when you’re young, they tend to vanish as you hit that age. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you.

          This was the fourth antibiotic I tried, and it does seem to be working. This was my first UTI (yes, at 64), and I hope it’s my last.

Leave a Reply

