Monday Flash Fic: Departure

13690746_1734226880158905_2703518670737977494_n“Why aren’t you packing?”

I stared out the window. “I’m not convinced we need to leave.”

Mike swatted me on his way past, holding an armful of clean underwear. “We need to leave.”

“Let’s wait another hour.”

“Five minutes!” He was in the bedroom, stuffing boxers into a soft-sided bag. “Don’t make me tie you up and carry you to the car.”

I couldn’t tear myself away from the view. “But this is where we met and fell in love.”

He returned and put his arms around me. “I remember. Mallory Square at sunset–”

“When else?” I laughed. That’s where everyone in Key West went to toast the end of the day and enjoy the performers.

“–and you looked so damn sexy, juggling those knives. You saw me and smiled, and I was suddenly terrified you’d make a mistake and cut yourself.”

“Never happen. I smiled at gorgeous men all the time, doing that act.”

He nuzzled my neck. “But you took me home with you.”

I turned, and we kissed. “Yup, and that was it. I’d smiled at my last gorgeous man.”

He glanced out the window, then pulled away. “Four minutes.”

I sighed. “Let’s just stay. It’ll be okay.”

He came out of the kitchen with a six-pack of bottled water. “Your shirt’s on the dining room chair. Stop fucking around. We’ve delayed too long already.”

We left the condo with our bags and water and snack food, and walked into a wall of rain, driven by an eighty-mile-an-hour wind. Mike was right. We’d waited too long.

We struggled to the SUV through several inches of scudding water, our backs bent against the storm.

I couldn’t speak until we were finally inside and noise levels had dropped low enough to be heard. Wiping water out of my eyes, I said, “I’m sorry. I just have this feeling we’ll never get back. Silly, huh?”

He started the engine, then took my hand. “Not silly, but remember, we take our memories with us, and if we have to start again somewhere else, we’ll be fine. We just have to stay together, okay?”

“Okay. Now get us the hell out of here.”

***

We got as far as Key Largo before we had to pull off the road and find shelter. Two days later, we found out our condo had been smashed to kindling, along with half of Key West.

Mike was pretty calm, considering. “I hear Fort Lauderdale is nice.” He hugged me. “What do you say?”

“I vote for Ocala. Hurricanes pretty much ignore central Florida.”

He picked up our bag. “I don’t care where we go as long as we’re together.”

_________

Word count: 431
Genre: contemporary
Read more flash fics here.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in free read, publishing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Monday Flash Fic: Departure

  1. Helena Stone says:

    Very sweet indeed. I love it. Wonderful!

  2. Jaycee Edward says:

    I love the term, “scudding water.” How perfect. You don’t normally write in first person – why this time? Just curious.

    • I write in first person quite a lot, actually. If you look back over my flash fics, you’ll see that. The WIP is in third person, so maybe I wanted to change it up? Keep my hand in? I love writing in first person, but when multiple PoVs are needed, third is best.

  3. Lindsaysf says:

    Sweet. And sad. And a reminder of changes & departures to come.

    • Things are always changing. We humans tend to forget that. I try to wake up every day, appreciating where I live and being alive, and hoping something good will happen.

  4. Jeff Baker says:

    Oh, now that was sweet! Loved it!

  5. diannegray says:

    Nice escape and a great relationship allegory as well. If you can successfully navigate the storms of life and still be in love and together, it’s a wonderful thing 🙂

  6. A.M.B. says:

    Awww. Very sweet.

Leave a Reply

