A Tale of Two Phones

For the longest time, I used a basic phone while everyone around me pecked and peered at their smartphones. Some people even tried to make me feel uncool because I didn’t have the latest model.

What does a basic phone do? Make and receive calls, send and receive texts. That’s it. Suited me fine, and then my contract came up for renewal, and I wondered if I should finally get a smartphone. I spoke to someone at Verizon, and sometime during that call, I talked myself into it.

The model I wanted was back-ordered, so I had to wait almost a month to get it, but oh, boy! Now I could have GPS, a flashlight app, and… and… I couldn’t think of anything else I wanted, but I’d figure it out.

Turns out I didn’t want anything. I use Google maps on the laptop to find out where to go and how to get back, and I have a nifty narrow-beam flashlight on my key chain if I find myself in dark places. I visited the app store and saw a lot of stuff, but nothing jumped out at me. I have a pedometer, so I didn’t need to carry a phone to track steps and distance during my walks. News headlines? I’m on a computer all day, and on social media plenty; I see ’em. 

It didn’t take me long to realize I wasn’t using the smartphone the same way others were. In fact, I often forgot to take it with me when I left home, just like with the basic phone.

When I got the first bill–you know, the bill after the one where they tack on all the charges attendant on switching phones and plans–it was a ridiculous $75. Know what I paid on the old plan? Twenty-five bucks a month.

I went a little nuts, then I called Verizon. Someone in Customer Service listened to my story and request to return to my old plan and phone, couldn’t do anything for me, and transferred me to a sales rep. The sales rep listened to my story and request to return to my old plan and phone, and said (I’m paraphrasing), “Tough shit. Suck it up. You have a contract, and nothing can be done until the two years are up.”

I asked her how long it was before I could quit Verizon without paying a penalty. She said two years. I asked how much I’d have to pay if I quit in a year. She transferred me to Chris.

Ah, Chris. My hero! What a nice, nice man. He listened to my tale and request, and said, “That won’t be a problem.”

And just like that, I had my old plan back, and the new smartphone was deactivated. He also gave me his work email address, advising me to get in touch if I needed anything, like when I want to replace my basic phone with the dying battery with an updated model.  It even came up I wrote books. He asked me about that, and I told him about the new one. He said it sounded interesting, and he was just finishing a book and looking for something new to read.

During our emails back and forth, I asked if he could accept attachments, because I wanted to send him a copy of No Man’s Land.  He refused, saying he wanted to buy the book “to support me.”

*died and went to heaven*

I have never in my life enjoyed dealing with a company so much. Chris is a wonderful example of the best customer service can provide. I think I fell a little in love with him. 🙂

Hope he likes the book.

________

I have a nearly brand-new black iPhone SE for sale. It’s one of Apple’s cheaper phones, rolling in at around $400. I used it for a month. Works flawlessly. 😉 Never dropped it, no scratches. You can have it for $125. Will be sent insured in original box, with earbuds I never used, and wall and USB charger. Car charger and rubber phone cradle included.

As advertised, it does have long battery life. It takes good pictures, charges in minutes, and is easy to use. I liked it a lot; I just can’t justify that monthly charge when all I do is make calls and send texts. Contact fenraven at gmail if interested.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A Tale of Two Phones

  1. Jaycee Edward says:

    Ya gotta love when you get a really great CSR. There are still a few out there.

  2. Allison says:

    I love my phone, but then I’m not on the computer much. I’m glad glad you got such an amazing CS rep and that you were able to go back to your old phone. You should send an email about him, maybe it will get him a better raise or something. 🙂

  3. diannegray says:

    I had my old phone for many years (2000 – 2010) and my provider was always trying to get me to change because I only paid for calls. Now I have an iphone and love it! It’s fantastic to hear about the great service you got and the fact that he’s going to buy your book! Wow 😀

  4. W. Lotus says:

    Customer service that truly serves us is such a gift!

  5. A.M.B. says:

    How wonderful! It’s very rare to hear (see) any kind words about customer service.

Leave a Reply

