Photo Friday

It’s summer in Florida, and that means high temps and humidity. The last several weeks, it’s been in the 90s, with dew points over 70. Often the heat index is well over a hundred. That means I haven’t been outside much, so taking photos isn’t a regular part of my day right now.

I did manage to get a few shots, however, when I stayed at R’s the two weeks he was up north recently, selling the house. He’s done a fine job of updating the new house he bought right around the corner from me, and it’s on the lake, which means terrific views.

The guest room at the back of the house overlooks the water. I woke up one morning to the following sight.Β Cooper's Hawk wings 6.16.16 sm

He’s sitting on the tail of a three-piece yard dragon. Notice the snail at his feet. Must have been breakfast. πŸ™‚Β Coopers Hawk spread 6.16.16 sm

The distinctive red eyes made me think this is a Cooper’s Hawk. They are common in Florida. Isn’t he a beauty?

He hung around most of the day, sitting there or in the dead tree. The light was never right for the latter, but when he perched in a neighbor’s tree, I crept out with the camera.Coopers Hawk 6.16.16 sm

Summer in Florida typically means lots of rain, though we seem to be going in streaks this year. However, downpours are not uncommon. We got so much rain one day,Β there was standing water nearly from where my car was parked all the way into the street. That’s the back end of my car. It doesn’t look so bad from here, but the driveway exit is completely flooded; there is normally a ditch on either side of it, and you can’t see it at all.Downpour 1 6.8.16 sm

I was shooting through the door, it was raining so hard. When a car went by, I took a pic.Β Downpour 2 6.8.16 sm

Yeah, fun. πŸ˜‰ I had to exit using the neighbor’s drive; his wasn’t so bad.

Pic of Suki taken before I changed the lanai around due to a new couch.Β Suki 3.25.16 sm

Have a great weekend!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Photo Friday

  1. Helena Stone says:

    Wonderful pictures. That rain is something else, although we’ve been getting occasional showers like those too. The hawk is majestic but, for me, Suki steals the show πŸ™‚

  2. Jaycee Edward says:

    Great hawk pics!! The water-wall shot is cool, too. Our dew points are in the high 60s right now and I can’t stand it. That’s the only thing I hated about going to Disney; I always felt “damp.” I remember coming back to Ohio and saying, “OMG..I finally feel like I have dry clothes on!” Haha. Give Suki a kiss from me. Every post needs to end with a pic of her! (Oh, and the OCD in me needs you to fix that one curly-cue on the gate. Please.)

    • Ha! I’ll consider the gate fix. πŸ˜‰

      I walked the canal wall last night and returned with my neck soaked. Still humid at 8:30. I’ve gotten used to it though, and I can enthusiastically say I do not miss skin so dry, it flakes, and hands that bleed, the air is so dry. I haven’t had staticky hair since moving south. Used to hate that!

      • Jaycee Edward says:

        Static is the worst! Getting shocked when you touch stuff… We don’t have that problem for some reason. The humidity in our house during the winter stays around 60%, but growing up, I used to get shocked like mad at my parent’s house.

  3. Yvonne says:

    Wonderful pictures of the hawk and Suki! I’ll ignore the rain pics; we’ve been getting our fair share of that stuff here the past few weeks;-) Even lit a fire yesterday.

    • Sometimes when I’m writing, I get in the mood to hear the crackle of logs in a fireplace, so I fire up Netflix and play one of two fireplace vids. It does the trick! If I close the curtains, I can imagine it’s winter outside, and the wind is howling and the snow is falling. πŸ˜‰

  4. A.M.B. says:

    Beautiful pictures. Our weather lately has been similar to yours. It’s not quite as humid, but the highs are in the 90s. Ugh.

  5. diannegray says:

    Great shots! I love the effect of the car going through the water – timing is everything! πŸ˜€

  6. Paul S says:

    We’re getting plenty of rain here in England, but a hawk is something I would never see.
    Majestic!

Leave a Reply

