Superhero Overload

The last decade has seen a slew of superhero movies. Before that, there were a few, but nowhere near in the numbers they’re made and released today.

I remember seeing Christopher Reeve in Superman and loving it. The Michael Keaton Batman films? The first one was wonderfully dark, the second’s saving grace was Michelle Pfeiffer as Catwoman. “You poor guys. Always confusing your pistols with your privates.” Then she cracks the whip. She wasn’t that sexy again until The Fabulous Baker Boys, when she slithered all over the top of the piano in a red dress while singing  “Making Whoopie.”

But I digress. I was talking about superheros, and lately? I’ve gone off ’em. It seems like there’s a new superhero movie or TV series every other week. There are so many, I can’t tell one from another anymore, especially when they throw a bunch of heroes into one film, like The Avengers. I’ve tried to watch that movie three times, and I still haven’t gotten all the way through it.

It’s so damn boring! They’re all boring now, offering an overabundance of CGI flashy effects and almost nothing in plot, characters, or relationships. The last superhero film I remember enjoying was Ironman. I can’t think of once since then I’ve bothered to see.

I don’t know, maybe I’m starting to feel about these films like I do about sports: don’t like watching them, but enjoy participating in real life. Like, if someone asked me to play some backyard baseball or football, I’d do it. That’s fun. I’d get some exercise, have some laughs, feel like I’d done something that day. But sitting in front of a TV watching others play? Nope. Not interested.

These days, I’d rather be the man with telekinetic powers than watch someone do it in a movie. Writing characters like that are good too. Part of the reason why I write is to vicariously enjoy things my life will never offer.

It’s a bad sign there are so many superhero movies around these days. It means people are desperate to escape, and Batman with his toys and Superman in his cape are the ultimate escape.

I’m doing it too, but I do it with writing, not by going to the movies.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Superhero Overload

  1. Allison says:

    The Reeve Superman movies are basically B grade and great fun to laugh at, I love making fun of the acting! 😀

    I agree there is a glut of superhero films and the reasons behind that are troubling. But the humor in a lot of them is fantastic, they throw snark perfectly. Then again we both love a well made popcorn flick and so few blockbusters are that it’s refreshing to not groan at the stupid plots and bad dialogue. Of course some are better than others, Ironman is a ton of fun.
    I was so happy to see the absolute stupidity of the Independence day film being overrun by Finding Dory at the box office! I detested the first film although it’s hard to dislike some Goldblum.

    Heh, that was kind of long. Have a great weekend!

    • I love good snark as much as the next person, but when every single movie follows the same tired formula, including stereotypical characters and yes, that snark, it gets old fast. I despised the Groot movie, whereas everyone else loved it.

      I simply avoid seeing most of them anymore. Maybe if I only pick one a year, I’ll thoroughly enjoy it, eh? 🙂

  2. Helena Stone says:

    Since I rarely (if ever) watch movies I couldn’t tell you which was the last superhero movie I watched from start to finish (I’m bound to have walked in on Dermot and/or daughter watching them on TV so I probably so parts of most of them). I can’t say I feel as if I’m missing out. Give me a book over virtually any movie, any day!

    • Oh, I love a good movie, whatever the genre. I tend to avoid war films (depressing even when they’re not), I despise “stupid” low-brow comedies, and now I’ve added most superhero movies to the list. But I love to be taken away visually by a good story, a great setting, and compelling characters. Interesting. Those are exactly the same reasons why I love reading a good book.

  3. Jaycee Edward says:

    We used to go to a movie every Friday without fail. We’d meet at the matinee after work. Now…We go to maybe two or three movies a year…maybe. Last one we saw was Jungle Book and enjoyed it, but Disney rarely disappoints. Frankly, the other people in the theatre bug the crap out of me – the glare of their cellphones, talking, etc. I get most movies on DVD now or wait until they’re on one of the movie channels. By the time I see it, I’ve already heard most of what there is to hear about it and I pretty much know what to expect. I’ve never been a fan of superheroes although I did love the original Superman, too.

    • I agree with Allison the Reeve Superman movie is campy and the specials not great, but at the time it was state of the art, and I liked its heart. New Superman movies feel plastic to me.

      Last time I saw a movie was with AJ in Minnesota. She was visiting, and for her birthday, we went to see the new Trek film. It was the second one in the series. The theater was nearly empty and gorgeous, and we had a great time, but mostly I agree with you about waiting. I much prefer seeing films at home now, where I control everything.

  4. diannegray says:

    I’m not a big movie watcher, but I did watch Ironman and really liked it. I’m like you, I’d rather have those powers myself or write about them 😉

    • 🙂 I finally watched Deadpool last night. Meh. The action scenes bored me because they were so similar to those in other movies. The MC was sometimes amusing but just as often annoying with his constant wisecracking. Maybe I’m finally too old for these films, eh? 🙂

  5. A.M.B. says:

    My other half enjoys those movies. He sees all of them on his own. It’s not my cup of tea.

    • 🙂 These movies really appeal to most men. I think it’s all the special effects, where cars get smashed and people get punched. They can also leave the room or theater and know they won’t miss anything crucial, since they’re all pretty much the same. 😉

      • A.M.B. says:

        I have no idea why they appeal to my husband, but I bet he likes the special effects. Occasionally he watches one of those movies at home. At least he doesn’t watch sports, though!

        • That’s a plus. I decided long ago I couldn’t be with anyone who thought watching football all weekend was a priority. Just hearing a game on TV makes me cringe.

  6. Paul S says:

    I’ve got fond memories of watching Reeve’s Superman back in the day. I haven’t seen any of the current glut of Superhero movies, but I wouldn’t mind seeing La Pfeiffer back on the big screen!

Leave a Reply

