Monday Flash Fic: The Challenge

13494878_531136320406793_4591285529648515773_nI stared at the canoe lodged in the tree. “Why in hell did you do that?”

“Was testing the pulley,” he said calmly. “It also deters people from stealing the canoe. Someone walked off with my kayak a month ago. I’d turned it over in the grass next to the house. Fuckers carted it away when I wasn’t there.”

I exhaled slowly, flummoxed.

“What?” He grinned. “Not impressed?”

“What if a killer was chasing you on Friday the 13th with a big ol’ knife and your only escape was on the river? How would you get the thing out of the tree fast enough to survive the maniac’s attack?”

He strode over to the ash, yanked on a rope, and the pulley released, dropping the canoe into the crotch of the first big branch. From there, it slid unevenly to the ground, landing with a jarring thump.

He laughed at the expression on my face. “Thought I’d gone ’round the bend, eh?”

“I wondered, yeah.” I looked at him, then at the canoe. “Putting it back up there again?”

“Yup.”

“Know how you can really impress me?”

He raised an eyebrow.

“Skip the pulley. Levitate it into place this time.”

He chuckled. “You know I don’t like showing off.”

He used the pulley, and I helped, though not without protest. Magic was so much more fun.

__________

Genre: contemporary
Word count: 225
See other flash fics here.

__________

Just a reminder: my new book is now available at Amazon.

Cover NML 100x156 widget

 

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in free read, publishing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Monday Flash Fic: The Challenge

  1. vonn892013 says:

    The blue canoe photo is wonderful and I so love your imagination.

  2. Helena Stone says:

    That was wonderful. I love the simplicity of it ❤

    • I looked up “canoe in a tree,” ya know. To see if there was any possible reason someone would do that. There wasn’t. I remain curious about the person who did this and why. 🙂

  3. Jaycee Edward says:

    I didn’t even see the pulley!

  4. Kathleen Lilly -Schell says:

    Love it! Gave me a good laugh this morning and I needed it! Thanks, I love the places your brain travels.

  5. jeffbaker307 says:

    Very nice! (Sequel! Sequel!)

  6. diannegray says:

    Great story and I love that ending! Gave me a big smile 😀

Leave a Reply

