Friday Photos: ‘gator and more

No matter how many times I go through a ms in Word, I always miss something. Reading it as a PDF makes things leap out at me. I’m expecting another edit momentarily, but in the meantime, I’m slowly going through the galley and making changes.

The interesting thing is, since taking the pressure off myself to “hurry hurry get it done get it out,” the usual publish-it-now anxiety is nowhere in evidence. I’m relaxed, calm, and if I don’t release this for another two or three weeks, I don’t care.

This signals a major shift in my attitude toward writing and publication, and I’m still processing what it means.

_________

The small ‘gator has been spending a lot of time in the canal the last week or two. I took photos of him. Imagine looking through the viewfinder at this!  I got chills taking this shot, realizing how close I was to something that could attack if he wanted to. I backed off. We’ve had a lot of rain the last few days; the water level has risen significantly. High enough he would only have to jump a little to get onto the sidewalk. gator closeup 5.19.16 sm

And another, from slightly farther away. gator head 5.19.16 sm

A few days later, I saw him again and noticed one of his eyes was not fully open. An injury of some kind? gator head 5.27.16 sm

This is the small ‘gator. Here he is in full, tail to tip of nose. Small gator 5.19.16 sm

R was unpacking boxes the other day and found something he thought I’d like. He dropped it off a couple days ago. 🙂 gator mug back 5.22.16 smgator mug front 5.22.16 sm

The limpkins are back. They eat the apple snails in the canal, doing a good job of keeping them under control. There is a family of them: parents and three offspring. Unfortunately, I didn’t have the camera when I saw them strolling down the other side of the canal. These birds have a distinctive cry. I can’t describe it, but when I hear it, I know who’s making it.Limpkin 5.19.16 sm

And just because it’s pretty, here’s a pic of an orange snail in the water. I like the way the sun lights it up. Orange snail 5.19.16 sm

Have a terrific weekend! I’ll be working again, but I love it!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Friday Photos: ‘gator and more

  1. I’ve also found that listening to my ms on my Kindle will catch a lot of errors.

  2. Allison says:

    Those shots bring home how close you really are to the alligators. Yikes. Cool pictures though. I love the snail, it looks like it’s glowing.

    Have a great weekend!

  3. Jaycee Edward says:

    I love the mug!!!

  4. Helena Stone says:

    As fascinated as I am with those gators you have for neighbours, I’m not jealous we don’t get them here. Cool pictures though and that mug made me smile.

    Have a wonderful weekend.

  5. A.M.B. says:

    Yikes. Even a “small” alligator is scary! Wonderful pictures. I wonder what happened to his/her eye.

Leave a Reply

