Fen vs Facebook

A few days ago, I returned to my computer to find I’d been logged out of FB. After I logged back in, and before being sent to my page as usual, I was informed I had to create a Page because it had been decided I was running a business.

Wow, that would be news to me. Yes, I edit books part time, but I’ve never solicited jobs on my wall. I’m also a photographer, but again, I don’t try to drum up sales for my photos. Two or three times a year, I release a book and at that time, I do post an announcement to that effect, but that’s hardly running a business.

I wasn’t allowed to move forward until I agreed to create a Page. After I did that, I was informed I had fourteen days to migrate my profile information to the new Page. There was no mention of what would happen if I didn’t do that.

I haven’t done that. I’m considering my options.

None of my close writer friends have run into this yet, so it’s another one of FB’s hit or miss bullshit decisions, improperly rolled out. I was offered an opportunity to send feedback. I did so, pointing out what I said above and requesting I not be forced to maintain a page no one will see anyway. We all know how FB “tweaked” the algorithms so only seventeen of your friends see anything posted on a page unless you give them money by boosting the ad.

I had a page once. It didn’t do shit for sales even when I coughed up money to FB, so I killed it. Maybe that’s why I was targeted; I had a page once and now I don’t. Still, I ain’t running no business, and if they spent even five minutes on my wall, they’d see the same crap everyone else posts.

I am now in a quandary. I don’t respond well to intimidation or bully behavior, and FB is employing both tactics in this instance.

It’s possible, at the end of the fourteen days, my account will be deleted. It’s also possible I will let it happen. Ethically, morally, I do not like or approve of FB. They spy on users, they sell our information to the highest bidder, and let’s face it: we are only there because we make them money. If we didn’t, Zuckerberg would have invented something else. I use it because it’s a convenient way to stay in touch with friends and readers, but there are other platforms, though admittedly, they aren’t as widely used.

The reality is most of my “friends” on FB aren’t. There is an inner circle of people I consider friends. The next circle out contains acquaintances I run into now and again and enjoy chatting with, and then there’s the outer border, which is the largest circle of all: people I don’t know, who I never talk to because they don’t talk to me.

If I vanished from FB, how many would follow me elsewhere? I bet I can count them on two hands. Hell, maybe it’s only one hand.

As of today, I haven’t decided whether or not to acquiesce to FB’s demands. If I vanish, however, you can always find me here on WordPress, on Twitter (though I’m not there much), and on G+ (I’m there a lot). Search for Fenraven, and you’ll find me.

I was taught the only way to defeat a bully was to stand up to them. In the case of Fen vs. Facebook, Fen will lose.  I know this, but I don’t like how I’d feel if I rolled over and never said a word.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Fen vs Facebook

  1. Helena Stone says:

    That’s just nonsense. FB is up to it’s bullying tactics again and, like the last time, I’m sure it will run its course before they have to backtrack but by then they may well have lost a substantial number of people. Of course I’d follow you wherever you end up being 🙂 I haven’t actually looked at G+ in ages but that will change, starting today. In the meantime I hope FB comes to its senses sooner rather than later.

    • They did not respond to my feedback, even though they said they’d get back to me in 24 hours. But neither is the damn page gone either.

      It will be interesting to see what happens when the allotted time is up.

  2. Allison says:

    This is so shitty. I hope it is resolved, correctly, before the time runs out. I wonder, if they delete your profile, if you can create a new one with the same information. After all it will no longer exist. I haven’t looked at G+ in ages, I’d heard it was going away and I dislike the set up so I stopped visiting. If you are only there I will go back, but I’ll probably dump everyone else in my circle (s) so I can see what you have to say and then skate. I’m sorry you’re stuck dealing with this. 😦

    • Just create a new circle with me in it. Then address private message to that circle. The interface is lovely once you figure it out, but it does not allow for picture-posting in comments, which bugs me. We can always chat using google, too.

      Facebook should not be the only place to connect with people! That kind of monopoly is dangerous.

      • Allison says:

        True, I dislike a lot about FB and it shouldn’t be a monopoly, but it’s also just about the only SM site I like the look and feel of. 😦

        We’ll definitely figure out something though. ((Hugs))

  3. Jaycee Edward says:

    Same here. I have accounts on G+, Ello, tsu ( or whatever it is), and I spend virtually no time on any of them. I’m basically on FB, Tumblr and Twitter. If you get the boot, I hope you create a new account for those of us who want to keep following you on FB. (Do you still have Elle?)

  4. Lindsaysf says:

    Alas I almost never look at google+. I’m locked into fb because ZQC is on it. And my relatives. Somethings weird at fb. I got a Facebook report of a picture as potentially offensive. It was a Star Trek Beyond poster!!

    • My notifications don’t work half the time either, and that’s fairly new. I agree something is weird, but it’s also true people often get caught in the fallout. Even if FB realizes their mistake, they’re not likely to apologize. For one thing, I’m one user of a zillion; they won’t care.

      If they have a system in place to deal with people like me, who refuse to use the page they blackmailed me into creating, when the time is up, the next step should happen automatically, and I assume that means deleting my account.

      No other writer has been treated this way. Either it was random, or me once having had a page, then killing it, popped up a flag. Even though that happened about three years ago!

  5. Forest Maid says:

    I mostly see you on Twitter, but I haven’t seen anything from you in a while on FB, but I am sorry to hear you are having problems, sometimes businesses ruin things for themselves & wonder why they get bad reviews

  6. diannegray says:

    This is really odd. I think it all starts when you cough up money to FB. My daughter did that with her food blog and it didn’t work out so she stopped. After that, her news feeds were dropped to the bottom of the pile and nowhere near as popular as they were before she forked out the money. I would see them once a week before she paid, once a week after she pain and not at all when she stopped paying. It’s a scam. Good luck – I’m on G+ but probably don’t use it as much as I should.

    • It’s been three years since I had the author page. It’s weird they would have waited this long to stomp on me.

      G+ is great for connecting with people with similar interests, but it doesn’t sell books. FB sells books. 😦

      On the other hand, if I wasn’t on FB all day long, I’d get a lot more done in my “real” life. Heh.

  7. wendytaft says:

    Stay strong! I gave up my FB, MySpace, and Twitter accounts in 2009. I am still doing okay to this day. Sure, I miss out on some social things, but if it is really important, I find out through someone going old school and “texting” or “phoning” me. Those who want to know about me …know I don’t do social media.

    • A lot of people don’t do social media, and I admit sometimes I wonder how healthy is it to spend so much time online. I go through phases when I go offline for a few days, and it feels great. But then I start to miss it and am glad when I return. *sigh*

  8. A.M.B. says:

    I don’t know how I missed all these posts. Have you resolved the FB issue? I am not a fan of the service. I have a personal page I rarely use. It’s nice to be able to post pictures of the kids for my extended relatives to see (it’s better than having to email it), but that’s about it.

    • I did! They were supposed to respond to my feedback within 24 hours. It took two weeks, but they essentially said, “Here’s how you delete the page.” That was not expected. 🙂 So I deleted the page. Hopefully, they won’t bug me about this again.

      So Fen won against FB! Bet that almost never happens.

Leave a Reply

