When Momentum Fails

Recently, I experienced a long stretch of work where I was editing every day, including weekends, for about five weeks. During that time I did no writing at all. That was a problem, because prior to scheduling that bunch of edits, I’d been giving the WIP a lot of attention and managed to get back the momentum I’d lost the last time I worked several weeks in a row.

Losing momentum when writing takes no time at all. Schedule a couple days off, and it’s gone. Getting that momentum back is a struggle, and it’s getting harder all the time.

Editing is a job that requires 100 percent focus every minute of every hour you do it. Daydream for even a few seconds, and you might miss something. It’s a demanding, exhausting way to make money, and while I enjoy the process, I also wish I could afford to quit.

I can’t be creative after fixing someone else’s manuscript six to eight hours a day, and not only because I’m tired of sitting in front of a computer. My head is awash with all the things a writer shouldn’t do, and even the best of us make those mistakes, me included. Just ask my betas. 😉 

The advice is to get that story down before you start picking it apart, but when I edit, “getting it down” might take months, with lots of long breaks between bursts of creativity. I stop writing when I have editing jobs–momentum lost, interest in WIP dead–then try to pick it up again.

What do I do then? Piss and moan, then force myself to start writing again.

________

I walked into the bedroom the other day and saw this: Suki's front paws 5.25.16 sm

That’s Suki’s paws, sticking out from under the sheets.  She likes to crawl under the blankets and sleep for a couple hours after I get up.

Have a great weekend!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to When Momentum Fails

  1. Like the red sheets.

  2. Jaycee Edward says:

    My brain has basically been fried by real life stuff. The creative side took the worst hit. Getting into “writer mode” almost seems like daydreaming to me and I guess the rational side of my brain won’t allow me that luxury right now. Either that or I need more RAM. 😛 Love the sheets. And the paws.

    • In retrospect, I see the Wicked Witch of the West’s ruby-slippered feet sticking out from under the house Dorothy dropped on her when I look at that photo today. Heh.

  3. Allison says:

    I’m glad you got a break in between the edits.

    The paws are so cute! I love that she goes back to nap. Do you have stairs for her or do you put her back on the bed?

    • I let her out around 5 a.m., after which she lounges in bed until I move to the lanai, when she gets let out again. When I lived in St. Paul, she had a step to help her up on the bed. After we moved, she completely forgot how to use it, so now I lift her when she wants to get up. She knows what “Want to get in bed?” means, and trots over and stands sideways so I can wrap my hands around her middle. I use her old step as a footstool under the computer desk, so this worked out for both of us. 😉

      She still leaps off the bed, though. Doesn’t seem to bother her, but I keep an eye on it. If she’s at all reluctant, I manually move her to the floor.

      • Allison says:

        The B’s know what it means to. Unfortunately Bella has discovered she can jump off the bed, something she couldn’t do in PA because she had no control on the hardwood floors. It was bad enough with Beau doing it, now I have to track both of them. 🙂

  4. Helena Stone says:

    Struggling with writing is something I ran in to recently for the first time. Looking back it’s almost as if the first three stories wrote themselves. Maybe it was the innocence of not having a clue what I was doing in the first place. Recently I’ve been second guessing myself too much which leaves me frustrated. That has resulted in me over extending myself when it comes to reviews and beta reads which, at least in part, is probably an escape route for me so I don’t have to concentrate on the writing too much. Not worrying about it (yet) but I am very curious to see if, when and how this situation will resolve itself again (hopefully).

    Love the picture of Suki. How cure is she? ❤

    • It takes me what seems like forever to get back into a writing groove when I’ve quit for a while. It’s unpleasant needing to find a way to pick up the reins again and move forward (to use a riding analogy, and why not?). Writing is still fun most of the time, but it’s not as carefree as I once imagined. 😉

  5. diannegray says:

    I struggle to get back if I take a break from a WIP as well. I wish I had an answer for you (or a magic wand) to get back into it again. Suki looks SO cute snuggled up like that xxxx

  6. Patricia says:

    Keep on. I love your stories.

Leave a Reply

