Monday Flash Fic: Voyage

13237654_517777565076002_2113924746057962200_n“Don’t go.”

We stood in the middle of the street, hugging fiercely while revelers partied around us.

“I’ll be back.” The odds weren’t in my favor.

“I’ll wait.” His voice was hoarse from crying.

I knew he meant what he said in this moment, but two-and-a-half years was a long time. There’d be someone new.

I whispered against his ear, “I won’t sleep tonight.” I was too excited. I was also terrified. “Stay with me until dawn?”

He sniffled. “Just try and get rid of me.”

The first manned Mars mission lifted off at 0700, and I would be on it.

___________

Genre: SF
Word count: 100
Read more flash fics here.

___________

Wolf Bound blog banner

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in free read and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Monday Flash Fic: Voyage

  1. Helena Stone says:

    Short but sweet (or should that be sad). I like it šŸ™‚

  2. Jaycee Edward says:

    I like the shorter flashes and this is why. It’s more fun to see if you can grab me in just a few words. (And you did!)

  3. Lila Leigh says:

    Aww! I hope he makes it back.

  4. kanundra says:

    Great short, and is perfect as is. šŸ™‚ thanks for sharing.

  5. What a beautiful moment!

  6. jeffbaker307 says:

    Oh, that’s wonderful! Please keep us posted on how it goes with this story—-it belongs in a “Best Of” collection, at least!

  7. diannegray says:

    Nicely done. I love flash fiction and this is one of the best I’ve read šŸ˜‰

  8. Yvonne says:

    Just shows you don’t need a lot of words. This was wonderful.

Leave a Reply

