Friday Pics

As most of you know, I suffered a fairly major infection last week and was put on some fierce antibiotics. I was okay until the fifth day, when my right leg and arm starting acting up. My doctor took me off the drug last Monday, but I’m still experiencing pain and discomfort. This side effect seems to be hanging in there, which displeases me more than you can imagine.

I did, however, take a couple of short walks today, and I continue to drink lots of fluids. One of the fluids today was scotch. My first alcohol in eight days! Tasted good. 🙂 Also helped with the pain. Heh.

I have spoken with my doctor’s office a second time, and it was mutually agree I wait until Monday before making an appointment. With luck, I won’t need one. 

Gator news: It seems a couple with a kid in the park at the end of the canal were seen hand-feeding our ‘gator. Not only is this against the law, it’s stupid as hell. It teaches these dangerous creatures humans are a source of food, and instead of moving away from us, they approach. Residents are keeping a close eye on the situation. If people feel threatened, we’ll call and have him moved elsewhere. Someone spotted a ‘gator baby, but I haven’t been lucky enough to see it yet.

Gator 2 5.6.16 sm

Saw this terrific palm tree in someone’s yard during a walk. Palm 5.8.16 sm

One of the Muscovy ducks that frequent our canal. The red growth on their faces is ugly as hell. They are not native to Florida. Someone brought them here, and they have proliferated. This one has a stripe of red down the back of his neck. I’d never noticed that before. Muscovy Duck5.3.16 sm

Ibises hunting for food as the sun went down. I like the light on the heads of the two to the left. 4 Ibis 5.3.16 sm

My favorite anhinga, sitting on the dead tree. ALL the birds love this perch. Anhinga 5.3.16 sm

A tricolor heron stretching. Also perched on the dead tree. Gorgeous color, eh? Tricolor Heron stretching 5.11.16

Have a terrific weekend!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Friday Pics

  1. Jaycee Edward says:

    Hope you’re on the tail end of recovery by now. It’s been a rough month for you!
    Who in the world would think it’s a good idea to feed a gator?

    • Honestly? I feel like crap today. The pain in my leg and arm is getting to me. I can’t turn suddenly without causing pain. Bending to pick something up… the same. Ouch. I’m forcing myself to take short walks every day in the hopes this will turn things around. Keep your fingers crossed.

  2. Allison says:

    I love the look of that palm, but I’m betting cleaning up after it is unpleasant. The heron is gorgeous, what a great capture!

    I’m glad you’re feeling better, I hope the extra couple of days proves to be what you need.

  3. Helena Stone says:

    The photos, as always, are gorgeous. Seeing how I can’t imagine having a gator anywhere near my house, I really can’t get my head around why anyone would think it might be a good idea to feed it. I can see all sorts of nightmare scenarios playing out in my imagination, and if any of them come to pass, those people would only have themselves to blame.

    I’m sorry the pain is lingering. It’s astounding the damage a drug that is supposed to make you better can do to your body. Been there, done that and while I came a long way, I never fully recovered. Mind you, I was on my steroid for much longer than five days, so hopefully that mean your body will restore itself to the way it was before you took those tablets. Look after yourself and take it easy as long as that is what your body demands.

    • That’s my one hope: that I quit the day I experienced adverse symptoms. Hopefully, this will go away soon. I don’t want to think about the alternative. 😦

  4. diannegray says:

    I really hope you’re feeling better soon – there’s nothing worse than feeling like crap 😦 My dad was a very healthy guy and he always put it down to the amount of scotch he drank (it keeps bugs away) 😉

    How can any sane person feed a gator – this is just lunacy! Wow

  5. W. Lotus says:

    The wildlife is gorgeous. I’ll stay far, far away from the gators though, thank you.

    Are you feeling better today?

  6. A.M.B. says:

    I hope you’re feeling better now. It’s terrible that people were feeding an alligator. Did they think they were invincible? Ugh.

Leave a Reply

