Friday Photos: Snake in the Grass

He wasn’t actually in the grass, but that title sounded better than “Snake in the Stones.”

Just before letting Suki out yesterday afternoon, I spotted a mockingbird perched on a plant near the door. It seemed excited about something. I eased the door open, and it flew off (of course!). Below where it was sitting was a black snake, lying in the space between the back step and the door. He looked at me, tongue flicking.

I went back in for the camera. When I returned, I saw he’d dropped down into the narrow space; all I could see was his head So I touched his tail and out he came. I tracked him across the back of the lanai, where he made a U-turn and retraced his steps. Uh, retraced his slithers?  😉 

He tried to get in under the door. Failed.

Invite me in 4.28.16 sm

Gave me a cute look from the rocks. “Wanna kiss, baby?”

Wanna kiss 4.28.16

Got a very nice shot of him near the hibiscus bush. Black Snake 4.28.16 sm

When he figured I’d pestered him enough, he took off. My guess is he was between three and four feet long. I wanted to pick him up, but my #1 rule when shooting wildlife is not to stress or disturb my subjects unduly. I left him alone. Blowing the Pop Stand 4.28.16 sm

Two mourning doves, sitting in R’s mostly dead fruit tree at sunset. He tells me they only live about thirty years (the trees, not the birds); he’s already planted a replacement. Mounring Doves 4.24.16 sm

Ibis closeup at R’s. Someone’s been feeding them, and they aren’t nervous around people. Ibis closeup 4.2.16 sm

Looked outside one evening and saw this bank of clouds across the canal. Sunset again. Sunset Clouds 4.22.16 sm

A neighbor tells me a baby ‘gator has been spotted in the canal! I hope I get a chance to photograph it. Have a great week! See you next time.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Friday Photos: Snake in the Grass

  1. Helena Stone says:

    Gorgeous pictures once again. Having said that, I’m not sorry we don’t get snakes here. I adore that sunset, it’s absolutely stunning and I’m keeping my fingers firmly crossed you get a shot at the baby gator (although it’s another case of so glad we don’t get those in the wild here 🙂 ).

    Thank you for sharing.

  2. Lindsaysf says:

    What a gorgeous blacksnake! You get amazing pictures!
    !

  3. Jaycee Edward says:

    Love the snake-kiss pic and the sunset!!

  4. Allison says:

    Great shots! The snake is beautiful. I love the kiss shot.

    Have a great weekend, I hope you have time to relax.

  5. Yvonne says:

    Wonderful pics.

  6. diannegray says:

    What great pics! The snake is fantastic, I had one in my bedroom the other night and relocated him near the river. I got a few shots and will post them in a future post. A lot of people don’t understand how we can live with snakes, but I don’t mind them (as long as they’re not deadly) because they eat the rats and mice.

Leave a Reply

