Friday Photos: Spring!

Spring has sprung, as they say, and everywhere I go, I see bright splashes of color.  I think this is a Crape Myrtle. Crape Myrtle 3.23.16 sm

This is a Bougainvillea. They come in assorted colors, and I love them all. Bouganvillia 3.23.16 sm

Even my Croton has seeds. It was indoors for the day while people power-washed the courtyard. Croton seed 3.22.16 sm

Suki and I were walking along our favorite canal, and I spotted this dragonfly. I did quite a lot of searching but could not find out what it is. The red at the base of the wings should have been a clue, but nope! I saw nothing like it. Perhaps it’s new? Or maybe it flew up from farther south. It looks like it’s been sprayed with gold. Such a beauty!Dragonfly 3.23.16 sm

On that same walk, I spotted this bird in the bushes. I’m surprised I got this clear a picture of it, he was so far away. It’s a Great Crested Flycatcher. His breast is quite a lovely yellow. Great Crested Flycatcher 3.23.16 sm

Here’s a pic of Suki I took some years ago but never processed until now. What an idiot I was! She’s gorgeous in this photo. Suki in sun 5.27.08

Have a terrific weekend!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Friday Photos: Spring!

  1. Jaycee Edward says:

    Such great pics! Gives me hope as we still don’t have much color yet. I did notice a few trees that are just starting to sprout leaves and the forsythia and magnolias are in bloom.

  2. Helena Stone says:

    I love spring and all the colour it brings. We’re nowhere near as deep into the season as you are yet, but we’ll get there. Loved all those images and you’re right, that is a gorgeous picture of a gorgeous Suki ❤

  3. Allison says:

    The dragonfly looks like it’s been dipped in gold! Suki looks like she’s giving you a bit of side eye, so cute!

    • Oh, she knew I was there. I took a series of photos in the backyard of my house in Wisconsin. The lighting was perfect. As for the dragonfly, I love the way it looks! It should be called the Golden Dragonfly.

  4. diannegray says:

    I love these pics – that golden butterfly is awesome!

  5. lenalee says:

    Your dragonfly might be a Golden-winged Skimmer. I’ve only seen them in pictures and yours is beautiful.

  6. A.M.B. says:

    That picture of Suki is stunning! It’s amazing that we can see so much detail in her hair.

    Spring is beautiful in your neck of the woods. It appeared up north, but only briefly. This week is going to be colder than usual. I think my garden will be okay, though.

Leave a Reply

