Friday Photos: Double-Crested Cormorant

I let Suki out one afternoon, took a look around like I always do, and spotted the bird standing on the dead tree. Even down in the water, it attracts birds. πŸ™‚

I took a few pics, moved closer, took a few more, took more… until I was directly across from him. He knew I was there but wasn’t afraid. They eat from one to one-and-a-half pounds of fish a day. It’s probably a good thing he didn’t hang around, but I feel fortunate to have seen him. I think he’s gorgeous.

Cormorant 3.7.16 sm

Here’s a closeup for detail. Love the color of the eye! You can see the crest behind that eye. There’s another on the other side, hence “double-crested.”Cormorant Head Detail 3.7.16 sm

I revisited the bee tree, and they’re still busy, flying in and out. I can only assume there’s a honey hive inside, though it’s an odd time of year to be storing food. Winter is over, and it’s spring in south Florida.Β Honeybees 3.20.16 sm

Driving along one of the side streets, I spotted this growth in someone’s front yard. Notice it has a spotlight at its base. I assume that means it’s something special. I looked up trees, palms, and bushes, and couldn’t find this thing. I then sent the photo to R, asking if he knew what it was. He said it could be the King Sego tree without it’s palm fronds at the top. Weird, isn’t it? And oh-so-phallic.Β Unknown 3.20.16 sm

The weather’s been so nice lately (meaning: temperatures are bearable in a room with walls made of windows), and I’ve been sitting out there the last couple of weeks, working and writing. In the glass is ice, a little spring water at the bottom, and Merlot on top. It takes a while to mix if I don’t swirl it. πŸ™‚ This doesn’t even give me a buzz, but it tastes good. Heh.Wine and Water 3.20.16 sm

Here’s Suki, stretched out in the grass on a very windy day.Β Suki in the Grass 3.12.16 sm

Have a terrific weekend!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Friday Photos: Double-Crested Cormorant

  1. I love that you’re posting more pictures of Suki. She’s so beautiful.

  2. Jaycee Edward says:

    The cormorant’s wings look like alligator hide in the first pic and carved wood in the close up. And the eye!! *pets Suki and sips your wine*

  3. vonn892013 says:

    The cormorant is wonderful!! I’ve never seen one so close and had no idea they had beautiful green eyes. The Merlot looks so refreshing and I’ll have to try it with spring water and ice.

  4. Yvonne says:

    Gorgeous pics of the cormorant; I love that you can see the ring of white dots around its eye.
    Not a red wine drinker but that glass does look tempting. Not that we need cooling down just yet. Easter is early this year and we’re having rain,hail and a touch of snow to spoil this long (five-day) weekend.

  5. Allison says:

    I love the shot of your spritzer! The colors are perfect. Proves that photography doesn’t have to be about huge things to be enjoyed.

    SUUUKKKIIIII! heh

  6. diannegray says:

    When I was staying down south visiting my mother I was with a friend who also has a little dog named Suki – she was a real cutie as well xxxx

    I love the picture of that bird – beautiful!

Leave a Reply

