Photo Friday: Gator and Cat Menace

We begin with the ‘gator. That sucker is spooky! He was floating up the canal late one morning, and I happened to be out with the camera. So were a lot of ducks. They like to sit under the trees across the canal from me, and as the ‘gator approached, I tensed. He slowed to a stop as if studying the approaching ducks. Was he hungry? Was he planning to attack?

No! He floated right by. Ducks and Gator 3.3.16 smGator 3.3.16 sm

But the ducks didn’t let him off that easily. They swam after him, making duck noises which clearly said, “Get the hell out of here!” I can only assume one or more females were nesting. Duck Chases Gator 3.3.16 sm

They were utterly unafraid of the ‘gator. Consider me impressed!

Not long after the ‘gator disappeared upstream, the neighbor’s cat appeared. Remember him? Neighbor's Cat 3.3.16 sm

The anhinga was perched on the dead tree. Anhinga 3.3.16 sm

He kept a close eye on the cat, constantly snaking his neck this way and that.

Cat and Anhinga 3.3.16 sm

Meanwhile, a tri-color heron was freaked at the presence of the cat in his territory. Notice his raised crest? Freaked, I tell ya. Tri-color Heron Freacked 3.3.16 sm

The seagulls, who show up regularly across the canal for bread handouts were also extremely nervous. Normally, they fly in and land on the ground, but that day, with the cat out and stalking, they decided the wires were safer. Seagulls escape cat 3.3.16 am

In the end, the ‘gator got nothing and neither did the cat. 🙂

And here’s a pic of Suki playing with her squirrel. She’s been in a playful mood lately. 🙂 Suki with squirrel 3.2.16 sm

The new-to-me bird I got pics of will have to wait until next week. Have a terrific weekend!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Photo Friday: Gator and Cat Menace

  1. Helena Stone says:

    Wonderful post. I love how you turned it into a suspenseful graphic story. Between the cat and the gator those birds got a lucky break that day if you ask me. Thank you for sharing 🙂

    • All the action took place in about forty minutes. I took a camp chair out to the canal and sat there with my camera, watching all the various animals react to one another. 🙂 It was cool.

  2. vonn892013 says:

    I love your photo Fridays and this one is exceptional.

  3. Jaycee Edward says:

    Late to the party today, but chuckling at how this read like a children’s story almost – complete with the happily ever after Suki pic (which is too adorable for words). I needed all these smiles, so thanks for sharing!

  4. Allison says:

    That was great! 😀

    And, of course, Suki breaks all the cuteness rules!

  5. Patricia says:

    Every one will stay in my mind but those blue eyes on the cat…..

  6. A.M.B. says:

    Wow, there’s a lot going on in your neck of the words! I enjoyed seeing the pictures. That alligator would have scared me to death.

    • I have a lot of respect for the ‘gator. He is not to be trifled with. I leave Suki inside or keep her close when he’s around.

      • A.M.B. says:

        Yikes. I’m heading to MS soon, and the thought of coming across an alligator there makes me nervous (though I know the odds are low). I’ll be with my in-laws, who sent me a picture once of an alligator in their yard.

        • Stay well away from them and never take your eyes off them. They look lazy and slow, but if they decide you might taste good, they move like lightning.

          However, most of them don’t target humans… unless people have been stupid enough to hand-feed them. It’s against the law in FL to do so, for good reason!

          • A.M.B. says:

            Yes, I will stay as far away from them as I can! It would be neat to see one (as long as it’s from a safe distance!).

          • I do enjoy seeing the resident ‘gator float past, but I make sure not to dangle my feet in the canal, in case he’s lurking under the plants at the bottom. 😉

  7. Yvonne says:

    Put a smile on my face as well. Have a good Sunday:-)

  8. JudyB says:

    Love your gorgeous photographs — I always look forward to them! FYI, the birds on the wire aren’t gulls — they’re white ibis. Here’s a link that you may find helpful in the future: http://www.floridasnature.com/florida%20birds.htm.

Leave a Reply

