Photo Friday: This and That

We start with a mangrove buckeye. First, wings closed. Following that, wings open. Mangrove Buckeye closed 2.23.16 sm

Mangrove Buckeye open 2.23.16 sm

There were a lot of visitors in the neighborhood this last week, and a couple of the guys insisted on fishing. They spotted this very large fish (large for the canal anyway), but they never caught him. I got a pic of him opening his mouth. One of the fellows said it was a bass. Looked more like it was related to a bullhead to me. 😉 Big fish in canal 2.19.16 sm

I spotted this beehive in a tree along a road Suki and I were walking on. I intend to go back, see if I can’t get better pics. Lots and lots of bee activity, in and out of several openings in this tree. I find that encouraging, considering the news about them lately. Bee Hive 2.28.16 sm

The next day I spotted several vultures surrounding a dead armadillo. Poor thing. I’m guessing it was road kill, though it didn’t appear to be particularly flat. I turned around, went back, and took several photos of them. The one vulture kept picking up the dead animal and dragging him away, trying to keep me from taking him, I suppose. No thanks! You can keep him. 🙂 Vulture and Armadillo 2.29.16 sm

A typical Florida sky in late winter. Suki and I were at the end of a road that butted up against a canal. There were no houses on this road, and the local kids had turned the last two lots into a place to play. There was lots of sand there. I also saw quite a stack of empty beer bottles, so the older kids were making use of it too. 😉 Scott Road 2.29.16 sm

I was in the lanai one day, writing, when I looked up and spotted a bird coming in for a landing. I knew instantly it wasn’t the usual fare. I fetched the camera and went out. This red-shouldered hawk was hunting snails. He found one and pecked at it until he extracted the food. Red-Shouldered Hawk 2.29.16 sm

And for our wrap today, a pic of Suki, looking cute, as always. She was sitting in my rocker, looking at something through the windows. Suki on the rocker 3.1.16 sm

Have a great weekend!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Photo Friday: This and That

  1. Helena Stone says:

    Gorgeous pictures as always. And the wildlife you take for granted (vultures, armadillo, hawk) is so exotic for me. And Suki is as cute as ever. Are you sure that’s your rocker though? I’d say it’s probably Suki’s and she allows you to use it occasionally 🙂

    • She normally doesn’t sit in it, but I’ve been putting her there when we’re out in the lanai, and she’s getting used to it.

      I’m surprised you don’t run across wildlife on your dog walks. You have some, don’t you? 🙂

  2. Jaycee Edward says:

    We have those same hawks currently working on a nest in our neighbor’s back yard. I never used to see hawks around here as a kid. I remember the first time I heard that Death Valley kind of piercing scream they have. I’d never heard it before – except in Clint Eastwood movies. I was cleaning house and ran outside to see it. That was about 8-10 years ago. About 5 years ago, one flew into our back window and got it’s bell rung for the better part of a day before flying off. It’s mate stayed close by the entire time. Now they’re nesting in our trees. Things are definitely changing.

    • I was told years ago owls and hawks won’t share the same territory. I believe it might be true, as I’ve never seen both in the same area. I like owls. I haven’t seen any here yet.

      • Jaycee Edward says:

        I hear Barred Owls at night. They have the “who cooks for you” sound. I occasionally hear a Great Horned Owl (“Hoo”.) They actually kill/eat the Barred Owls. Pretty sure they could take out a hawk if they wanted to.

  3. Allison says:

    Wow! Lots of shots today. The hawk is gorgeous, I do love them in particular.

    Suki! All the cute there.

    Have a good weekend, my dear.

  4. Jaycee Edward says:

    And Suki….<3

  5. Lovely pics this week, Fen!
    And with the armadillos, when driving people will tend to straddle them between the tires if they can’t go around them which is what kills them, not actually getting under the tires. When the armadillo gets frightened, it jumps up. So when a car is passing over it, it gets scared, jumps and hits the underside of the passing car; assisted suicide for the poor creature, unfortunately.

Leave a Reply

